User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re-gripping a raquet

    I've been playing badminton for about 1-2 months now, and I've noticed that my grip has really started to 'dull'. I have a replacement grip, but I was wondering if I'm supposed to remove the factory grip that came on it. Cause alot of people say that I should keep the factory grip on the raquet and place the new grip on top of the factory grip. And alot say that I should take off the factory grip and just use the new grip without anything underneith it. So what should I do?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    u should rip the old one off if the new on is "replacement" grip, it's supposed to replace. but if u got a "overgrip" or "overwrap", it's supposed to go on top of the old grip.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It depends on how thick you'd like your grip would be, but as rexlu said, if it's a replacement, removing the old grip, then placing the new one would probably retain the size of the old grip.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the one I have says its a "sythetic Grip Wrap". So is it a replacement grip or an overgrip/wrap?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Overgrips are usually thinner than replacement grips.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so is a "grip wrap" an overgrip or a replacement grip?

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No idea... it's just a name. If it's really thin, it's an overgrip that's meant to be replaced after a few sessions. I replaced my YY Supergrap at least once a week because of my abrasive playing style and frequency of play. Replacement grips are meant to replace the factory grip and will last awhile cuz they're thicker. Hint: Replacement grips have adhesive tapes on them while overgrips don't.
    Last edited by cappy75; 09-18-2006 at 01:19 AM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cappy75
    Hint: Replacement grips have adhesive tapes on them while overgrips don't.
    do grips have adhesive tape on the entire inside or just the biggining?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,941
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by reiyne
    do grips have adhesive tape on the entire inside or just the biggining?
    Replacment grips have adhesive on the entire inside; overgrips have only a tiny amount at the beginning (since they are thin, you can just use tension to hold them in place).

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong/Singapore/Shanghai
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think an important question would be: did you find the original factory grip too thick? too thin? just right?

    If just right/too thick => for replacement, you will need to take off the original grip and replace it with a replacement grip (or a few layers of over grip) that is the same or thinner than the original grip thickness.

    If too thin => for replacement, just put an over grip over the original grip.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Derbys.
    Posts
    545
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you want to keep the grip at its current thickness remove the old grip, if you want it thicker then stick it over......

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    anywhere there are courts
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    why not just play with out a grip even take off the factory grip!! that would save money!

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it might save money to play w/o a grip, but it will degrade your gameplay and might even put you in a liability situation where if your racquet flew out of your hand and hit someone.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    u mean holding the racket on the wood? that'll give u blisters!!

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK, Derbys.
    Posts
    545
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spinner
    why not just play with out a grip even take off the factory grip!! that would save money!
    Ha thats a suggestion. I've played before with degraded grips (i.e. better than no grip) and end up developing blisters within about half an hours play, so with no grip your hand would be torn to shreds within a couple of hours.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spinner
    why not just play with out a grip even take off the factory grip!! that would save money!
    Lin Dan's grip is close to this. If you leave the cone/grip area with just bare wood, say by an inch, you will have better control for net shots and pushes.

Similar Threads

  1. Question About Gripping
    By magiadam in forum Grip
    Replies: 6
    : 05-03-2006, 09:02 PM
  2. Left and Right hnd gripping
    By quik_silver in forum Grip
    Replies: 4
    : 09-01-2005, 12:16 PM
  3. help me in my gripping plz
    By theasiandude88 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 04-19-2005, 04:54 AM
  4. Re-Gripping a Racket
    By Matt Ross in forum Grip
    Replies: 16
    : 01-07-2003, 04:58 AM
  5. Gripping
    By Jeff L in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    : 08-24-2001, 08:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •