Beginner...Some help?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Radagascar, Sep 28, 2006.

1. Radagascar

Radagascar New Member

Well, I'm starting to get more serious about badminton. I'd like some guidance on a racquet, I'd like to step up from the racquet that came in our 30$ back yard set :rolleyes:. I don't know anything about technical aspects of racquets so an explanation would be appreciated about anything technical. I'm also trying to find some footwork drills and further guidance on my technique.
    • I'm a beginner.
    • I'm male, about 6' tall, 135 pounds, not very strong ( I can bench about 85 pounds)
    • I want to develop good technique and footwork, a solid base for playing badminton effectively.
    • I haven't tried much, except shuffling around in the back yard. I did do pretty well in our back yard game...it's a modest start :p.
    So what I'd like is advice on footwork, maybe technique, and a good racquet that would get me through my newbie days with a minimal price. I'm also wondering about what's a good type of "shuttlecock"(I'm use to calling it a birdie :D).

Thanks in advance!

2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    where is "Normal"? properly disclosing your location will help us help you in finding equipment available in your area.

3. Eurasian =--(O)

Eurasian =--(O) Regular Member

how old are you? Definately your going to have to get stronger to get to an intermediate level.

4. Radagascar

Radagascar New Member

Oh, I'm in Central Illinois. I just turned 17 and that's about it. We have a couple sports shops around here but I'm not sure if they sell badminton stuff...

5. Dreamzz

Dreamzz Regular Member

a budget for the racquet would help as well ... are you planning on playing singles or doubles?

6. Radagascar

Radagascar New Member

20ish maybe, I'm not sure what a decent budget is, but doubles is what we do.

7. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer