Anyone up for helping the noob?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Paradux, Oct 31, 2006.

1. Paradux

Paradux New Member

Student
    Hi, just thought I'd join your community as you all seem very helpfull and I have lots of experience with online forums.

I have been playing badminton very casually for about 6 months and have just recently started going to more recreational clubs in my area. I am interested in taking my game further and just wondered what would be good to study. I understand that I need to take grip, footwork and fitness etc. into mind, but was just interested in how I should make an approach. e.g. I despirately need new footware and could do with a new racket (my ageing graphite Slazenger needs regripping and will need restringing soon!).

I also have a friend who I play with regularly but we just can't seem to win a game! He is a realy competitive sportsman and often trys to play my shots. I'd like to be able to play well with him as he goes to all my clubs with me and we play at colege together. Any advise?

Big thanks to all posts! :)

2. morewood

morewood Regular Member

Welcome to the forum.

Where to start, shoes, yep get some decent court shoes sorted out as a priority, you can spend anything from £10- £90 for court shoes HI Tec Squash are about as cheap as you can get (£15) and provide a good level of grip for a lightweight shoe. Yonex make some excellent lightweight supper absorbent gripy shoes but your going to be looking closer to £70.

Racquet, if you need to regrip get some new PU grip tape (couple of quid) as theres no need quite yet to change your racquet (unless you want too) whilst its still got string in it and your improving, a new super racquet wont make a lot of diference to your game whilst it costs a great deal.