Is Lin Dan's Serve Illegal?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by sergesa, May 29, 2006.

1. sergesa

sergesa Regular Member

Lin Dan cheating on his serve?

I am actually conducting a physiological and technical study using the Gade/Lin Dan semi-final match at the China Masters in 2006.

It seems that, somehow, Lin Dan is hitting the feathers first when in serves with his forehand.

The first pic, from above, shows he never hit the nose of the shuttle but the feathers.

In the bottom pic, you will notice that he succeeds in doing so by throwing the bird instead of simply droping it.

This is really strange.

Attached Files:

2. habujoji

habujoji Regular Member

Hi,
    Unfortunately i'm not an expert so i can't see with pictures if there's anything that could be matter of discussion about cheating. I just wanted to ask if the service had been the crucial point of the match. I aven't seen this match, so...If Peter Gade had lost most of the points with a strange deceptive service from Lin Dan, that sure must be something that need to be discuss. If not...

3. sergesa

sergesa Regular Member

The fact is that Lin Dan's forehand service is always the same and he seems to be hitting the feathers first which is prohibited by the rules.

As a matter of fact, even Lin Dan backhand serve is faulty as he jocks the head of his racket prior to the serve, not always, most of the time.

Rules are nade to stick by.

When they become arbitrary, the game itself become arbitrary.

4. Quasimodo

Quasimodo Regular Member

What's the time lapse between those frames? The recovery time of feather shuttles is quite quick. IIRC, it's in some hundreths of a second. So, it can be difficult to judge what the contact point actually is.

5. chickenpoodle

chickenpoodle Regular Member

the images are just made to seem like he's serving illegally.