User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    652
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default receiving serve after win?

    With the new scoring system, I find it advantageous to receive serve to start a game/match, even if I have won the toss... it's much easier to gain the initial point off attacking, in my experience.

    However, if I win the first game, is it possible for me to forfeit my serve in the second game (ie: let the other player serve first, though I won)?

    This question was also asked on the badminton Canada web site, but I didn't really understand the answer the umpire gave.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    Posts
    662
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't believe you can. If I remmeber correctly the rule said something about the winner for the previous set has to serve in the following set.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i would gladly accept the offer

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This is dealt with very clearly in the laws:

    "7.6 The side winning a game shall serve first in the next game."

Similar Threads

  1. footwork when receiving a serve
    By giant_q_tip in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 05-16-2009, 07:43 PM
  2. where do you look when receiving a serve and defending?
    By giant_q_tip in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 1
    : 05-10-2009, 05:59 AM
  3. When receiving a serve..
    By rayraymond in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 7
    : 05-03-2008, 05:43 AM
  4. receiving serve fault?
    By Ivan krivacka in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 08-22-2006, 03:41 PM
  5. Receiving serve in doubles
    By Cheung in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 3
    : 04-18-2002, 07:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •