Newbie want expensive racquet

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by 2asian, Dec 7, 2006.

1. 2asian

2asian Regular Member

hey guys, i'm a newbie, and i'm currently using a mp23 as of now but i always have the urge to buy an expensive racquet...should i just go with my urge and get one, or should i wait till i get better and find out what type of racquet would suit me? i play 3 times a week which comes up to 6 hours, so im getting better pretty fast..but im still a beginner

2. Tianjin

Tianjin Regular Member

Student
    Normally, I think as a beginner you don't need a high end racquet, since it won't change your performance. Also, there is a very high chance, if you play doubles, that you will clash your racquet with another player, therefore throwing your money down the drain

However, since it's almost christmas, I guess you could treat yourself. Just be extra careful and take care of it like a baby!

3. storkbill

storkbill Regular Member

NS9000 S is a good racquet for beginners because it provides a lot of feedback to the user as to whether you are hitting the shuttle correctly. Being headlight, it is also pretty easy to use.

4. 2asian

2asian Regular Member

whats the difference between headlight and head heavy? like what is it good for? i liek to smash, so woud head heavy be better for me?

5. Tianjin

Tianjin Regular Member

Student
    It boils down to personal preference. Both headlight and headheavy can provide you the power in the smash.

evidence:
    Lin Dan with At700 = 300 km/h smash
    Chen Hong with NS8000 = 300 km/h smash

If you can, try out the difference between the two. Personally I like headlight because it is more manoeuvrable

6. westwood_13

westwood_13 Regular Member

Student
    I agree with Tianjin. At this point, a new racquet probably wont change your results or your gameplay any... it never really does.