Yet another illegal service question

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Wurmer, Dec 8, 2006.

1. Wurmer

Wurmer Regular Member

Hi all, its my first time posting so I am taking this opportunity to salute everyone that roam these forums.

OK this happened to me a couple times when I am playing certain players in my club. They call a faulty service on my part and I am not sure why but this mostly happens when I serve a short drive in the corridor. One say that I am hiding the shuttle the other that I am hitting it the wrong way.

OK here is a detailed description of what I do when I am serving :

I use the backhand service

I place my racket in front of me than I place the shuttle right in front of my racket as it touches my racket slightly. My hitting motion is like a pivot of my racket around the arm axis that holds my racket. There is a back and forth motion but my arm doesn't move only my wrist does. I drop the shuttle the moment my racket hits it so it's practically in my hand when the contact takes place. I don't push the shuttle or shove it there is a real hit and the head of the shuttle is hit first. I can vary my shuttle placement by playing with the importance of my follow through done by my wrist.

Why would this represents a faulty service? I have a few ideas but I'd like to get your opinions even though I am fully aware that it isn't easy when you haven't seen me serve.

Here's what I think :

1) My racket head is sometimes a bit too much in a upward angle when I hit the shuttle, this would go against the law of badminton on service.

2) The shuttle is not out of my hand when my racket hits it. The contact between my hand - shuttle - racket is pretty simultaneous

3) None of the above and the persons I am serving to don't like to get caught with their pants down. (Note here, those commenting my service are generally 2 categories above me.)

Any hints could be useful really, if I am to play the game I want to play it right.

2. RiceBaiiKhao