Multi-disciplininary players and Mia Audina Tjiptawan

Discussion in 'Professional Players' started by walkinghome, Jan 11, 2007.

1. walkinghome

walkinghome Regular Member

It's been a quarter of a year since Mia Audina Tjiptawan retired and she still finished 2006 in the top 10 women's singles :D. That's cool. I hope everyone remembers what an inspiring and genius player we are missing.

-----

My thread is really about multi-disciplinary professional players - these are players who have competed in singles and doubles and/or mixed doubles. This phenonmenon seems much harder to master in badminton than in tennis.

With my limited knowledge here the persons I have seen footage or press coverage of:

All 3 events:
    - Mia Audina Tjiptawan (singles #1, doubles #5, mixed in Surdirman Cup)
    - Wong Choong Han (singles #1, doubles in Commonwealth Games, mixed in Commonwealth Games)
    - Park Joo Bong (doubles #1, mixed Olympic silver, when I just started playing I saw a video of Park playing and maybe winning singles versus Zhao Jianhua)
    - Xia Xuanze (singles #1, doubles and mixed in 2006)
    - Ra Kyung Min (singles #7, doubles top5, mixed #1)
    - Keita Masuda (one time highest Japanese singles and doubles player, mixed)

Notable singles and doubles:
    - Li Lingwei and Han Aiping (singles #1, and doubles partners)
    - Gillian Clark (singles, doubles)
    - Eric Pang (singles, doubles)
    - Wang Chen (singles, doubles)
    - Judith Meulendijks (singles, doubles)
    - Lim Swee King (singles, doubles)
    - Jim Laugesen (doubles, junior singles)
    - Peter Gade (singles #1, world junior doubles champion)

Notable doubles and mixed:
    - Zhang Jun
    - Gao Ling
    - Kim Dong Moon
    - Jon Holst-Christensen
    - Thomas Lund
    - Jens Eriksen
    - Jonas Rasmussen
    - Robert Mateusiak
    - Koo Kien Keat
    - Wong Pei Tty
    - Gail Emms
    - Nathan Robertson
    - Simon Archer
    - Rikke Olsen