Focus Issues

Discussion in 'Badminton Photography' started by zasboy, Jan 19, 2007.

1. zasboy

zasboy Regular Member

Hi. I'm pretty new to photography and have lots to learn. One issue I usually stumble upon is focus. Even though I think I have the camera settings correct, when I reviewed the photos, it doesn't look sharp or focus at all.

Here are some example photos from my school open gym. Lighting was poor and had to use some 'extreme' camera settings. Only edits I did was using auto settings in CS2 Camera RAW. No crop, but resized though.

1) Face doesn't look sharp
    [​IMG]

2) Face does look somewhat sharp but can be better?
    [​IMG]

Here are the equipments I used:
    - Canon Rebel XTi w/grip
    - Canon 50mm f/1.8

Here are the settings I used:
    - Manual Exposure
    - Shutter : 1/250th
    - Aperature: f/1.8
    - ISO: 1600
    - AI Servo AF
    - Manual Focus Point: Center Focus

The issue I'm having is that even though I have the center focus point on the player's face, I can't seem to get a sharp photo. I'm pretty sure it has to do something with DOF(depth of field) but I don't know much about this. From what I know(hopefully this is correct) that a large fstop such as f/1.8 would produce a shallow DOF which mean objects would appear sharp if they are closer to the camera and anything beyond a certain distance will be blurry. A small fstop such as f/22 would produce deep DOF which mean everything from a short to long distance would be sharp. I'm hoping this is correct. Please correct me.

I also know that some lenses has a sweetspot at some aperture. I think on the Canon 50mm f/1.8, the sweetspot is around f/2.8 but I wished I could use that. I could try to slow down the shutter to 1/200th and raise the aperture by one stop but not sure if the shutter speed would be fast enough to "freeze" the shot.