User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 39
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is the hook net drop shot legal?

    I tried searching the forums but i couldn't come up with anything to answer my query. I have asked many people and always get a mixed answer.

    Is the hook net drop shot legal? (it is a shot which mimics catching a birdie in flight, except instead of catching it you quickly scoop the birdie back over the net)

    Any comments on the legality? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,237
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    naw, thats as illegal as jump smashing a serve.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    why does one never see the professionals making these shots? or at least i've never seen lin dan make a hook shot...

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    226
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    LINK (PDF)

    Rule 13.6: if, in play, the shuttle:
    13.6.1 is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;

    Note the wording says held on.

    So if your first contact with the shuttle is to hit it to the back (not to guide in like catching a shuttle), it's legal.

    However, these moves are often hard to judge.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    jump smashing a serve is illegal? O.o

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobbieV
    I tried searching the forums but i couldn't come up with anything to answer my query. I have asked many people and always get a mixed answer.

    Is the hook net drop shot legal? (it is a shot which mimics catching a birdie in flight, except instead of catching it you quickly scoop the birdie back over the net)

    Any comments on the legality? Thanks!
    if by scoop, you mean kinda catching it and flinging it over then yes, never heard of that shot btw.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by __Lam
    if by scoop, you mean kinda catching it and flinging it over then yes, never heard of that shot btw.
    you mean to say its a legal shot?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    Posts
    662
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Err, I avoid confusion, I think we are talking about tumble netshots which are completely legal.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i dont really get what you mean by hook shot??
    can you describe more ??

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    Posts
    662
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by __Lam
    if by scoop, you mean kinda catching it and flinging it over then yes, never heard of that shot btw.
    I don't even see why anybody would do that, lol. The only time I see scooping is when you get the bird off the ground.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    1,416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    jump smashing a server is illegal???

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    Posts
    662
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PlayaFromMalaya
    jump smashing a server is illegal???
    No lol, i think it was meant as sarcasm. Or I am very confused lol.

  13. #13
    Regular Member wilfredlgf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PlayaFromMalaya
    jump smashing a server is illegal???
    It's against the spirit of sportsmanship, that. Likely to damage the racquet too.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by __Lam
    if by scoop, you mean kinda catching it and flinging it over then yes, never heard of that shot btw.
    if scooping the birdie...it's 100% illegal

  15. #15
    Regular Member phaarix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nelson, Aotearoa (NZ)
    Posts
    2,274
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think they meant the serve itself as a smash, not the return .

    "A hook/scoop shot is as illegal as a 'smash serve'" I think they meant.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ohhhhh i get it now.
    So it is illegal? i know someone posted a rule, but it doesnt say whether the rule is saying it is legal or not.

    What i mean, is performing the same action to catch a birdie mid air, only instead of only just catching it, you scoop it like a catch and quickly drop it down over the net in one swift movement.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dummey
    I don't even see why anybody would do that, lol. The only time I see scooping is when you get the bird off the ground.
    It is a good shot when used against incoming drop shots because you can precisly place the birdie to be sent over the net at a very steep drop angle, and close to the net. Also the deception involved with such a shot is high as well.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. throwing racquet to recover shot - legal?
    By Capnx in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 16
    : 02-13-2012, 05:37 PM
  2. Is this shot legal?
    By zqcebtmu in forum General Forum
    Replies: 14
    : 04-17-2009, 11:12 PM
  3. The hook Shot in badminton
    By oab729 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 6
    : 04-23-2005, 05:11 AM
  4. "hook shot"
    By gil g. in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 17
    : 12-03-2003, 01:14 PM
  5. Unlikely shot: is this legal?
    By bigredlemon in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 01-14-2003, 09:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •