User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 27
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Need a Ruling on Head Shot

    I was playing a double game this morning and was close to the net against the opponent. We each were about 3-4 feet from the net. I smashed and the bird hit my opponent center on his forehead. The bird bounced straight back and hit the top of the net. The bird dropped straight down on our side and I wasn’t able to return. While everyone watching laughed, I was told we lost the point.

    I felt really sorry as the bird hit pretty hard on the opponent’s head. I wasn’t sure if the headshot (without the use of his racket) would count as a valid hit. I let them walked away with one point. Can someone clarify the badminton rules on this one?

    By the way we won the game at the end.

    Danny

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I DON'T THINK THAT COUNTS AS A SHOT, BUT I MAY BE WRONG.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't know the exact wording of the rules, but I'm pretty sure a shot can only be returned over the net with the racket, not any part of the body.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    La Jolla
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Tweak is right, it is a fault if you hit the shuttle with any part of the body (including clothing) except for the racket. Therefore the point should have been awarded to you.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    aujerbajan
    Posts
    1,159
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    that is really funny. I've never seen that b4

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    rofl, that one should be caught in video.
    no, it's not soccer, u gotta score with your racket

  7. #7
    Regular Member phaarix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nelson, Aotearoa (NZ)
    Posts
    2,274
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    LOL, I've heard and seen some funny stuff on this forum lately. That's gotta be the funniest ! Must have hit him quite hard to bounce back! Was nice of you to give them the point though. I guess if the game wasn't too serious it's best you didn't argue against it .

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,064
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    haha, lmao, that's pretty funny thing to happen

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,661
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Even it is illegal, I will give him/her the point if the shot hit right between the eyes.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by silentheart
    Even it is illegal, I will give him/her the point if the shot hit right between the eyes.
    I must say that was a very hard hit to have the bird bounced 3-4 feet. Lucky that didn’t hit him in the eye.

    That ought to teach you a lesson to wear safety goggles during your games.

    Cheers!

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Edmonton AB, Canada
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i have another question a bit similar to this. it doesnt really deserve its own thread

    if the bird hits the post (the thing holding up the net) at an angle that it bouces and changes direction, then lands in (singles in, so it definetely woulve been out if it hadnt bounced) is it legal? would it qualify as a net roll?
    i was laughing pretty hard, and i just gave them the point.
    clarification plz?

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    652
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've seen it happen once. Well, no, I didn't see it happen. Because it was my head. They awarded us the point out of pity, since it wasn't a real match.

    And if it hits the post, it's out of bounds.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by westwood_13
    if it hits the post, it's out of bounds.
    which law is that?

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    your friend's head must be rather bouncy

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    your friend's head must have the equivalent string tension (head tension? stress?) of 18 lbs.

    -dave

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Richmond BC
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Ouch

    On the forehead is a fault for sure, but if you hit him on the nose and that happened......then you should ask for bonus points .

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SF bay area
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a fault
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle
    13.3.6
    touches any other object or person outside the court;

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
    which law is that?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Round the head shot?
    By SportsFanatic10 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 04-09-2010, 10:56 PM
  2. Round the Head Shot
    By Smasher Dobson in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 6
    : 09-20-2009, 11:47 AM
  3. Improving around the head shot
    By molohov in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 18
    : 11-20-2007, 06:29 AM
  4. Round the Head shot...help
    By tizle in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 1
    : 11-28-2005, 09:46 PM
  5. what exactly is an around the head shot?
    By Russ7 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 1
    : 05-21-2003, 12:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •