Results 1 to 17 of 27
Thread: Need a Ruling on Head Shot
03-03-2007, 05:31 PM #1
Need a Ruling on Head Shot
I was playing a double game this morning and was close to the net against the opponent. We each were about 3-4 feet from the net. I smashed and the bird hit my opponent center on his forehead. The bird bounced straight back and hit the top of the net. The bird dropped straight down on our side and I wasn’t able to return. While everyone watching laughed, I was told we lost the point.
I felt really sorry as the bird hit pretty hard on the opponent’s head. I wasn’t sure if the headshot (without the use of his racket) would count as a valid hit. I let them walked away with one point. Can someone clarify the badminton rules on this one?
By the way we won the game at the end.
03-03-2007, 05:38 PM #2
I DON'T THINK THAT COUNTS AS A SHOT, BUT I MAY BE WRONG.
03-03-2007, 05:58 PM #3
I don't know the exact wording of the rules, but I'm pretty sure a shot can only be returned over the net with the racket, not any part of the body.
03-03-2007, 06:11 PM #4
Tweak is right, it is a fault if you hit the shuttle with any part of the body (including clothing) except for the racket. Therefore the point should have been awarded to you.
03-03-2007, 06:50 PM #5
that is really funny. I've never seen that b4
03-03-2007, 07:01 PM #6
rofl, that one should be caught in video.
no, it's not soccer, u gotta score with your racket
03-03-2007, 07:06 PM #7
LOL, I've heard and seen some funny stuff on this forum lately. That's gotta be the funniest ! Must have hit him quite hard to bounce back! Was nice of you to give them the point though. I guess if the game wasn't too serious it's best you didn't argue against it .
03-03-2007, 07:59 PM #8
haha, lmao, that's pretty funny thing to happen
03-03-2007, 08:52 PM #9
Even it is illegal, I will give him/her the point if the shot hit right between the eyes.
03-03-2007, 09:04 PM #10
Originally Posted by silentheart
That ought to teach you a lesson to wear safety goggles during your games.
03-03-2007, 10:43 PM #11
i have another question a bit similar to this. it doesnt really deserve its own thread
if the bird hits the post (the thing holding up the net) at an angle that it bouces and changes direction, then lands in (singles in, so it definetely woulve been out if it hadnt bounced) is it legal? would it qualify as a net roll?
i was laughing pretty hard, and i just gave them the point.
03-03-2007, 10:46 PM #12
I've seen it happen once. Well, no, I didn't see it happen. Because it was my head. They awarded us the point out of pity, since it wasn't a real match.
And if it hits the post, it's out of bounds.
03-04-2007, 02:39 AM #13
Originally Posted by westwood_13
03-04-2007, 09:13 AM #14
your friend's head must be rather bouncy
03-04-2007, 02:13 PM #15
your friend's head must have the equivalent string tension (head tension? stress?) of 18 lbs.
03-04-2007, 05:03 PM #16
On the forehead is a fault for sure, but if you hit him on the nose and that happened......then you should ask for bonus points .
03-04-2007, 05:04 PM #17
It shall be a fault
13.3 if in play, the shuttle
touches any other object or person outside the court;
Originally Posted by Neil Nicholls
By SportsFanatic10 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 4: 04-09-2010, 09:56 PM
By Smasher Dobson in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 6: 09-20-2009, 10:47 AM
By molohov in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 18: 11-20-2007, 05:29 AM
By tizle in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 1: 11-28-2005, 08:46 PM
By Russ7 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 1: 05-20-2003, 11:36 PM