User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 18 to 27 of 27
  1. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Edmonton AB, Canada
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so if the bird hit the part of the NET (not the post) which is singles line 'out', but then tumbles 'singles line' in, it would be a fault? -hypothetical-

  2. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    in i would think

  3. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SF bay area
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    1.4 The posts or its supports shall not extend into the court
    thus the post is considered outside the court. There is no such statement on the net, so I think it's 'in'. But I could be wrong on this.

  4. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Richmond BC
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yup. Technicaly, the bird is still in play when it makes contact with the net tape.

  5. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mettayogi
    1.4 The posts or its supports shall not extend into the court
    thus the post is considered outside the court. There is no such statement on the net, so I think it's 'in'. But I could be wrong on this.
    It's basically like volleyball, where they have the thin red and white striped poles sticking up from the net. If the ball hits one of those poles regardless if it's going to stay in or not, it's still considered out.

  6. #23
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Laws
    1. Court and Equipment
    1.3 all lines shall form part of the area they define
    1.5 the posts shall be placed on the doubles side lines...

    the posts are on the lines and the lines are in the court, so the posts are in the court.


    So
    13.3.6 It shall be a fault if, in play, the shuttle touches any other object or person outside the court

    does not apply, because the posts are not outside the court.


    But I'm not sure if we can apply that to singles...

  7. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tweak
    It's basically like volleyball, where they have the thin red and white striped poles sticking up from the net. If the ball hits one of those poles regardless if it's going to stay in or not, it's still considered out.
    Badminton isn't supposed to have poles sticking up from the net, so it's not like volleyball. If you play in a gym where that's all they have, then you can make up your own local rules to deal with non-compliant court equipment.

  8. #25
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Being hit by the shuttle is a fault under law 13.3.5:

    "It shall be a fault:

    ...

    13.3 If in play, the shuttle:

    ...

    13.3.5 touches the person or dress of a player; ".


    If the shuttle strikes the top of the post and then falls in it is not a fault. The net posts are not outside the court - they are defined as part of the court and its equipment and on the line and therefore in the court.

  9. #26
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Richmond BC
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah, but look at the question again. He did not ask about hitting the post. He was asking about hitting the net tape. Specifically, in a singles game if it hits part of the net tape that is out of the signles line.

    Hitting the tape should be valid for the whole length of the net regardless if it's signles or doubles.

  10. #27
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    That is true, and the answer is the same as that for the post. It is not a fault as long as it goes over and lands in.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Round the head shot?
    By SportsFanatic10 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 04-09-2010, 09:56 PM
  2. Round the Head Shot
    By Smasher Dobson in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 6
    : 09-20-2009, 10:47 AM
  3. Improving around the head shot
    By molohov in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 18
    : 11-20-2007, 05:29 AM
  4. Round the Head shot...help
    By tizle in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 1
    : 11-28-2005, 08:46 PM
  5. what exactly is an around the head shot?
    By Russ7 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 1
    : 05-20-2003, 11:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •