string tension/types

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by newbie, Nov 26, 2000.

1. newbie

newbie Guest

i just started trying out badminton and i find pretty cool. right now i am trying to find more info about strings.

1) what are the costs/benefits of having higher and lower string tensions?
    2) does it matter whether i string the cross strings the same tension as the main?
    3) what is the tension combination that a typical player uses?
    4) what types of string are there? and which type is best?
    5) what's a good brand for string?

2. Ricky

Ricky Regular Member

IT
    In compare with some others in this forum, I'm really not an expert. However as I found nobody answer your question, so let me share something I know.

(1) I personally play with 24 lbs. When I play with less tension, I find lack of power during smash, however I can control the shuttle easier. When playing with too much tension, I simply find my racquet like a rock ! While I can still smash if I try harder, it is very difficult to control the shuttle precisely.

However for beginner, I would recommend 20 to 22 lbs.

(2) This is something I really don't care. The more important thing is : find a trustable shop and string your racquet there. Experienced stringers should know how to string best for a particular racquet (I believe the best string method is partially affected by the design of the racquet).

(3) If you don't specify, most shops (in HK) will string at ~20 lbs.