User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Please Advise..i Keep Twisting My Ankle!

Dear Forumners,
    Over the past couple of months I have twisted my ankle over 3 times. The last incident happened a couple of nights ago and that particular incident got me scared initially because I was expecting the worse but my ankle is just swollen right now.

This has happened to both ankles now. I only started playing again early this year after leaving the game for over 10 years and now i'm playing 3-4 times a week.

Please share any experience and advise/tips for me to avoid further worse injuries. My issue at the moment is that I still want to play 3-4 times a week.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Warm up and stretch like crazy.

Learn how to properly footwork.

If you jump, make sure that you land with your legs forming a triangle.

Wear an ankkle guard for the time being.

Let your ankle heal until the swelling comes down. If you don't and persist playing 4 times a week and keep making injury, it will never heal. Better let it heal than to have lifetime consequences in the end, with the perspective of not playing badminton for the rest of your life...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Well...if you dont have badminton shoes on...get them on....
    if you dont have any??...get some....

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

If you insist on playing, wear ankle supports on both ankles, get the traditional type (elastic), do NOT get the Nike ones as they don't offer enough support. The best choice will be going to physio therapy and take time off to let it rest. BTW, what type of shoes do you wear to play?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Are you rolling the ankle? If your shoes are very narrow, you may have a tendency to roll your ankle to the side. Are the sides of your shoe tread rounded as to make this easy to do?

Mentioned