Front position in doubles

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Mathieu, May 3, 2007.

1. Mathieu

Mathieu Regular Member

Student
    Hello,
    I am 17 years old (5''9)and I have been playing badminton for about 3 years now and I have been playing more seriously for about 1 year and I found out that I have a few problems when I am in the 'Front' position in Doubles.

My problem is that I have difficulty intercepting the drive returns or even killing weak net returns when my partner smashes. I've read a few threads about this but there were a few points that were still not clear to me:

1) When do I have to do my 'Split step' when I am in the front position. (Is it as my partner hits the shot, or before the opponents hit their return, or just after they hit the return)

2) How to I have to place my racket? I've been told to always keep my racket head up when I'm in the front but I've checked a few videos of pros in Men's doubles and the 'Front' player does not seem to have his racket head up (why is that?!)

3) If I have to keep my racket head up, which way is the most suggested to have more success in intercepting a drive return/ killing a weak net return. In other words (I know this might not sound very clear but it's hard to explain :eek:)... Do I have to put my racket above my right shoulder, or a little bit in front of me to cover back hand shots aswell. And how 'high' do I have to keep my racket head up? Also, should I suppinate my forearm when I am waiting so that my shot will be more effective or should I just keep a neutral postion?

4) Do you suggest using the standard (forhand) grip for the front position?

By the way, I usually stand about 1-2 steps behind the 'T' when my partner smashes and I stand near the 'T' when he drops. I normally don't have problems with my split step but it seems to be alot harder when I am in front (maybe it is beceause the shuttle gets past you faster?)