User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Service rules question

    When receiving the serve in doubles, does the non-receiving partner have the right to move, or must he remain immobile until the first service motion?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The laws of badminton state that the partners of the server and receiver may take up any positions they like that do not unsight the server or the receiver.

    Nothing is said about the partners being stationary, so they can move all they want.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wow I didn't think about that. Would there actually be an advantage in moving around though?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    513
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by globenstein View Post
    Wow I didn't think about that. Would there actually be an advantage in moving around though?
    Probably not, unless the intention for moving about is to distract the opponent, for which there is a rule against.

Similar Threads

  1. Query on service rules under 21-point system
    By iMakk in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 1
    : 04-28-2011, 01:14 AM
  2. service rules questions
    By forgeron in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 13
    : 03-11-2010, 09:40 AM
  3. service rules
    By novl in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 11
    : 05-20-2009, 12:01 AM
  4. Service Rules - Racquet too high?
    By collinsc in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 29
    : 10-17-2008, 10:03 PM
  5. Rules question...
    By graphite in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 12-13-2004, 01:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •