Help to string a tennis racquet

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by coachgary, Jul 31, 2007.

1. coachgary

coachgary Regular Member

A friend of mine would like me to re-string his tennis racquet!! Yikes!! I've been doing his badminton racquets for a couple of years now. Hopefully with a bit of advice from you all here regarding type of string and stringing tips, things to be carefull of, etc he will still be a friend after this nightmare!!

Cheers

Gary

PS. I have an electronic constant pull machine, 6 point clamp down.

2. fishmilk

fishmilk Regular Member

Student
    It isn't difficult at all. At the very least you don't have to deal with shared holes. Just make sure you find the proper string pattern either on the manufacturer's website or the klippermate website.

3. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    I think you need tennis clamps? I don't think the badminton ones fit. :rolleyes:

4. coachgary

coachgary Regular Member

I have tennis clamps also thankfully. The Klipper site seems to be down at the moment.

The racket is a Prince thunder ultralite titanium Oversize! 16m x 19C. 50-55lb.
    This is the info printed on the racket. I've tried checking which string to use although I'm probably more confused than ever. Will buy something mid range and give it a go. Won't be charging labour cost this time anyhow, just the string price.

Found a site earlier toady with the pattern on it, two piece stringing rec'd.

Will let you know how I got on with the job later.

5. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

The pattern is same for all the prince thunder oversize. 16Mx19C Skip 7, 9 top and 7,9 throat. Main tie off on 8 throat. Cross start tie on top 5 start on top 7. cross tie off on 6 throat. If you use 2 piece method, I will recommend you to tension the main at his requested tension and drop 2.5 or 3 lb on the main. It’s a tennis thing.

6. fishmilk

fishmilk Regular Member

Student