Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread: Who wins the point?
08-07-2007, 04:31 AM #1
Who wins the point?
This happened in a match yesterday: A hard smash and the shuttle disintegrates in the air, the feathers come off the cork. The feathers (all feathers) go into the net but the cork (only the cork) goes over the net and lands inside the lines on the opponent's side. Does the player smashing win the point because the cork landed in on the opponent's side, or do the opponent win because the shuttle went in the net?
08-07-2007, 04:35 AM #2
hahaha, how did such a thing happen?
i'm sure someone will quote the rule book soon and give us the answer, but for me, if it happened in my club during a match, we'd probably just play a let and get better shuttles!
(or ban shuttle abusers!)
08-07-2007, 04:46 AM #3
Nobody, it is a let.
it shall be a "let" if during play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle.
08-07-2007, 04:51 AM #4
08-07-2007, 08:26 AM #5
Good call Neil. You are too fast and I was asleep.
08-07-2007, 09:02 AM #6
08-07-2007, 11:21 AM #7
i believe this happens when you hit only the cork with the upper frame of the racket.
actualy, did the feathers come off the cork, or the cork off the feathers?? if it's the former, there should still be some sticks attached to the cork....lol
08-07-2007, 05:35 PM #8
lol happens all the time with plastics, the cork will break off the curtain and become a high speed projectile = )
By Pete LSD in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & ToolsReplies: 107: 04-17-2012, 12:11 AM
By Jonc108 in forum Professional PlayersReplies: 9: 06-24-2010, 05:52 AM
By CkcJsm in forum General ForumReplies: 12: 03-19-2009, 07:26 AM
By sjhuk in forum General ForumReplies: 10: 11-13-2004, 05:30 PM
By taneepak in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & ToolsReplies: 11: 06-30-2004, 05:34 PM