User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post [Clarification] Laws of Badminton

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    ...
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
    ...
    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net;


    Does this mean that if, for example, it is obvious that the shuttle will not pass over the net, if the opposing player catches the shuttle before it touches the floor with his racket under the net in the opposing court, he should still win the point?

    Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    2,214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    13. Faults

    It is a fault:

    13.4 if, in play, a player:

    13.4.3 invades an opponent’s court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted; or

    -dave

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Technically yes, they should still win the point.

    For a similar situation, if you get hit with the birdie, then you normally loose the rally. However, if you hit a tight drop shot and your opponent hits the birdie under the net at you, hitting your leg say, then you still win that rally, even though the birdie hit you before landing as a fault.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The opponent (who put collected the shuttle before it hit the floor) will lose the point because, as wood_22_chuck stated, he is 'invading' the court.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so just let it bounce on the floor first, simple as that

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post Reply

    Quote Originally Posted by DivingBirdie View Post
    so just let it bounce on the floor first, simple as that
    Yeah, i know it's that simple, but sometimes it happens to kids and less experienced players.


    Quote Originally Posted by rwg05 View Post
    The opponent (who put collected the shuttle before it hit the floor)will lose the point because, as wood_22_chuck stated, he is 'invading'the court.
    That's true, but I don't think that law 13.4.3 can be applied here (obstructing the opposing player?!), so I still think that the point should be won by the side who collected the shuttle before it hit the floor (law 13.3.3).

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what if at the instant the shuttle hit the side of the net and the opponent's racket also hit the other side of the net at the exact moment the shuttle hit the net? who's fault (if there's any) will that be? and/or who gets the point?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The^Guard View Post
    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    ...
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
    ...
    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net;


    Does this mean that if, for example, it is obvious that the shuttle will not pass over the net, if the opposing player catches the shuttle before it touches the floor with his racket under the net in the opposing court, he should still win the point?

    Thanks!!!
    We've had this discussion before
    http://www.badmintonforum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=38257
    and I think the result was

    the old law
    "13.3 if, when in play, the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker's side of the net...."
    has gone.

    Has become the new laws
    10.2 for singles,
    In a rally, the shuttle may be hit by the server and the receiver alternately, from any position on that player's side of the net, until the shuttle ceases to be in play

    11.2 for doubles.
    something similar

Similar Threads

  1. Laws of Badminton Question: Service
    By jdcastro in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 72
    : 03-16-2011, 11:51 AM
  2. Laws of Badminton (Badminton World Federation) (Approved at BWF AGM 15 May 2010)
    By mickey_vun in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 52
    : 12-19-2010, 01:50 AM
  3. Singapore Laws
    By CoolMonster1 in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 19
    : 09-03-2007, 04:56 AM
  4. how many times have you read "Laws of Badminton"?
    By kwun in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 63
    : 04-27-2007, 12:38 PM
  5. Laws of Badminton after May 2006
    By Loh in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 74
    : 03-12-2007, 09:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •