Recommendation for new racket

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by magicsushi, Sep 8, 2007.

1. magicsushi

magicsushi Regular Member

Hello all,

I'm looking for some advice on buying a new racket.

A little bit of info: I usually play twice a week and 90% of the time it's doubles. I've been playing like this for roughly two years or so. I would consider myself of an intermediate skill level. I currently have a Yonex MP33 which has served me well but I feel it's time for an upgrade.

My playing strengths are probably my quick reactions which makes me good around the net and returning smashes but I also enjoy playing drops from the rear of the court. Basically I'm more of a 'touch' player (if that makes sense?) than powerful hitter but that's not to say I'm defensive as such. I enjoy carefully placing shots and would say I'm an offensive player though I'm comfortable defending. One of my major weaknesses is my smash which is ok but not great. I have a feeling that some of this confidence based and it's something I intend to really work on.

The MP33 I've been using was strung with BG85 about six months or so back and I quite like the string though I think I should have had it strung higher (It was strung at 24) and I noticed it seem to lose tension relatively quickly.

Money isn't too much of an issue, largely because of how little (at least compared to the majority of people here) I play and for the same reasons durabaility isn't a major concern. From what I've read on the forums, I like the sound of the AT-900T

Any advice you could give me on rackets and strings that might go well with the style of play I've described would be greatly appreciated. I hope I've given enough information. If not please ask and I'll happily clarify/expand on this post

Many thanks

2. UncleFester

UncleFester Regular Member

New ti-10 would be an option.
    Also Ns9000s.
    Both are very easy to use, and very manouverable.

See if you can demo them.