Results 1 to 16 of 16
09-23-2007, 02:45 AM #1
Missing the shuttle while executing a serve (& other concerns)
Attn: Moreland players ...
A shuttle missed during a service attempt is a fault according to the following laws:
13.1 (It shall be a ‘fault’) if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
9.1.9 (In a correct service) in attempting to serve, the server shall not miss the shuttle.
Some related laws:
9.1.7 (In a correct service) the movement of the server’s racket shall continue forwards from the start of the service (Law 9.2) until the service is delivered (Law 9.3);
9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server’s racket head shall be the start of the service.
9.3 Once started (Law 9.2), the service is delivered when the shuttle is hit by the server’s racket or, in attempting to serve, the server misses the shuttle.
On the topic of a legal (or correct) serve:
9.1.6 (In a correct service) the shaft of the server’s racket at the instant of hitting the shuttle shall be pointing in a downward direction
Note that it does not say that the shaft of the racket needs to be pointing in an upward direction in order to be a fault. The wording of the law implies that the service is not correct (legal) if the shaft is parallel at shuttle contact.
These rules were extracted from the BWF site under the topic, Laws of Badminton.
09-23-2007, 02:58 AM #2
According to Law 13.4.1, it is a fault is a player touches the net or its supports while the shuttle is in play. Now pay close attention to the wording of Law 15.
15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
A shuttle is not in play when:
15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred.
09-23-2007, 04:11 AM #3
one question. i was umpiring a game. and one of the guys had this serve, which i though was illegal.
he'd take a small swing, stop, then a big swing, like deception. it's like the deceptive netshots, you set up, high, let the racquet drop quite fast, then come back but so it looks like a lift then stop at the last minute. in this persons case, he'd take two swings basically. one short, then the main one. is that illegal?
09-23-2007, 04:43 AM #4
Once forward motion has started, if the racket head stops or moves backwards then it's a foul serve - the serve has to move forwards in one continuous motion (but variations in speed are fine).
09-23-2007, 11:30 AM #5
09-23-2007, 12:10 PM #6
09-23-2007, 12:22 PM #7
Originally Posted by Shifty
Originally Posted by Shifty
If he begins a service with a fast swing and suddenly slows down, that's also not illegal.
If, however, there is a reversal of the forward motion during service, that is illegal.
09-24-2007, 12:10 AM #8
what if in the course of the backward movement of your racket, you hit the shuttle and it drops to the floor?
09-24-2007, 01:17 AM #9
i guess have misunderstood...but i thought he was referring to dropping the racket head after the forward hitting stroke had started...
now that i tihnk about it, i guess he might be referring to the dropping action before the forward hitting action...
09-24-2007, 01:55 AM #10
However, if the serving player performs the error and, even tho' the shuttle has already dropped to the floor, initiates a forward swing anyway, then this would be a fault since, by definition, the service has started and the player has missed th shuttle.
It is unlikely that this last scenario would occur or, if it did, it is unlikely that law would be enforced.
09-24-2007, 03:55 AM #11
sorry for all this confusion. i'll try to describe his stroke. starts a forwards stroke, then stops it, short stroke overall. then pulls racquet back slightly, then palys actual serve stroke.
09-24-2007, 04:35 AM #12
09-24-2007, 04:37 AM #13
09-24-2007, 12:03 PM #14
my friend and i were fooling around one day and we tried to think of deceptive, yet still legal serves so we pretended to do a high serve but immediately stopped the racket AFTER contact so it'd turn out to be a low serve
so since we stop it after hitting the bird would it be legal?
what if we continued the swing motion just VERY VERY slowly?
09-24-2007, 12:11 PM #15
Please correct me if i'm wrong but this is what i understand from it.
09-24-2007, 07:39 PM #16
By JollyArmpit in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 11: 03-23-2010, 11:03 PM
By Danstevens in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 13: 11-10-2008, 10:51 PM
By Twaddy in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 7: 10-20-2008, 01:38 AM
By Mathieu in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 2: 05-28-2007, 06:46 PM
By wedgewenis in forum General ForumReplies: 13: 07-29-2002, 11:12 AM