advice for beginners

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Terry Kil, Oct 18, 2007.

1. Terry Kil

Terry Kil Regular Member

I'm a beginner in badminton in the sense that although I can make contact with the birdie most of the time, I have poor footwork, can't do smashes, suck on drop shots, etc.

At the new university I transferred to, theres a badminton club. I always go to the club alone since I havent met too many people yet. Each time I've found other beginners to play with, I've had a fun time. But the problem is that beginners dont show up to every open recreation. Most of the players there are much better than me. quite a few times I got stuck playing with much better players and they seemed pretty smug.

I would like to play badminton more often, but its no fun if I end up playing with people much better than me and who also arent very friendly. Do I just have to tough it out? Is this the best approach for someone new to the game like me?

also, is playing badminton at the school gym a good way to make friends if youre a beginner like me? or would I just have to be stuck making friends with other beginners?

2. jhirata

jhirata Regular Member

Playing badminton is a very good way of getting to know other people quickly.
    If you want to improve your skills so that you can enjoy this game better, try getting a coach. You can find tutorials on the internet too, such as
    http://www.ibbs.tv , youtube, etc..

3. Shifty

Shifty Regular Member

Student
    making friends with beginners is still making friends. be patient. getting good at something doesn't happen quickly. most likely, the better players spent over a year or so developing their skills. badminton is a very technical sport, so it takes time.