Need help with starter equipment

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by psx19, Oct 30, 2007.

1. psx19

psx19 Regular Member

I tried making a topic for each section to make it a bit more specific, but it yielded no results =( I was hoping to be able to delete the topics and make one concrete topic, which is this one hopefully.

A bit about me. I've been playing for a bit over 2 years, inconsistently. I play about 8 hours a week now (all I can). I consider myself an all-around/offensive player. I enjoy smashing, but I try to do a little bit of everything. I live in New York, please consider that when making equipment recommendations ^^

1) Racket
    I've been trying to research a bit, asking some friends to see their rackets, and seeing what's available. I THINK I prefer a head-heavy, stiff, 3U racket, but to be honest, I don't have enough experience with rackets to rule out other options. My budget is low, $80 or less US. I was thinking of AT250, or maybe a muscle power, but I'm open to any other suggestions (brand doesn't matter much to me).

2) Shoes
    Been trying to figure this one out for a while too. I want to test some shoes out in person for fitting. Being that I'm in the NYC area, my options seem to be severely limited. I was specifically interested in Wave Gate II/III, or Asics Gel Tactic. I haven't been able to find any local places for Mizuno, and the only Asics that might be available locally I think is the Gel Rocket III. Again, my budget is low ($60 or less), so I ruled out Yonex. I think I'll try a few local stores to see if I can perhaps just go with the Gel Rocket.

3) Bag
    I was going for something like a 6-racket bag with a shoe compartment, and maybe another small compartment for accessories. I'd like to spend less than $25, so the Victor C-3078 appealed to me ($19 on bbesports). It seems to have what I need, but I don't necessarily like the style. I was just wondering if there are other choices for this criteria.