Seeking competitive badminton partner with excellent sportsmanship (redwood city)

Discussion in 'USA West' started by bsoo920, Nov 3, 2007.

1. bsoo920

bsoo920 Regular Member

Hi, I'm looking for a consistent badminton partner - don't care what gender or age you are, as long as you fit the bill. But first, let me introduce myself so you see where I'm coming from:

I've been playing badmin for probably 5-6 years seriously (I'm 34, chinese male), so I'm decent, but not good enough yet to compete in any tournament with good chances. But I want to improve by playing more serious games more frequently. (I'm over classes.) But I find that difficult because of the social aspect of badminton.

First, none of my friends/acquaintances like playing the Challenge court. Then, the good ones think I'm too easy and generally don't seek to play with me (which I totally understand). Even if they do, I'm lucky if I get to play with them, because for that to happen I'd have to queue up at the right time on the right court. And third, people generally form social circles, which I also completely understand, but that means i not only have to be social, I have to be socially skilled to get my spot. I'm socially competent in certain social situations, but not on the court. I mean, I'm there to smash.

So here's what I'm looking for between me and my potential badmin partner. The more you fit the bill the better:
    - possess unwavering, graceful SPORTSMANSHIP. If you make me look bad, I'm ditching you.
    - be a decent level but competitive player - this is a tricky area, but if one of us find the other too much of a beginner, let's be blunt and split.
    - we can become friends either way if we click, but this is strictly optional.