badminton and squash - not mixing well..

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by frankcent, Nov 16, 2007.

1. frankcent

frankcent Regular Member

I have been playing badminton competitively for 3 years now. Last month I tried squash and it was very easy for me to get into and after many sessions, I was even able to beat my friend who introduced me to this game. It is a very intense sport and requires a great physique and really trains cardio too. I found that footwork can be greatly applied to squash. This week, I played squash on monday, wednesday and friday (today) and badminton on tuesday and thursday. On thursday, when I played, I found that my shots were off, my backhand was weak and it felt completely awkward and unnatural. I used to be able to execute backhand clears with no problem and yesterday I was more like trying to kill the invisible fly with my badminton racquet. Now, I have a dilemma. I already invested in a good squash racquet but I don't want to mess up my badminton form at the same time..

does anyone have similar experience?

2. gingerphil79

gingerphil79 Regular Member

Sports massage therapist
    B4 i started playing badminton, I was a relatively good tennis player, started when i was 11 & played every summer til about 19 or 20. Only prob about it was could only play in summer & always played wit same 2 guys which got a bit repetitive.

When i started badminton, i found it hard to hit any shots overhead, timing was off but a lot of the guys were telling me i was playing a lot of tennis shots which rn't gud in badminton. I stopped playing tennis, just badminton, game has cum a long way.

The prob is even though squash, tennis & badminton r al racket sports & they seem the same, they r not, very different. positioning, footwork, way to hit object etc. My advice would be to pick 1 & play the other 1 occasionally but thats just me.

Good luck anyway :D

3. SystemicAnomaly

SystemicAnomaly Regular Member

pre-Occupied