Flying clamps

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by Dirchsen, Nov 25, 2007.

1. Dirchsen

Dirchsen Regular Member

Student
    Hi all,

I have just seen the video by DinkAlot here, www.youtube.com/watch?v=FIjO9MLTjJk.

So now I wonder why he is using 4 flying clamps instead of 2.. isn’t it the same, if you're using one or two flying clamps in each side? Doesn't it just take longer time to use the double up?

Thank you in advance

Btw. im pretty new at stringing, so it may be a strange question. :) Hope you understand me.

2. Sgbad

Sgbad Regular Member

bumming around
    For me, 2 fly clamps is enough. Maybe dinkalot just wants to make sure that the string doesnt slip. Thats all.

3. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

Hi Dirchsen,

1) Welcome!
    2) If you string at high tension (>27lb) 4 clamps is used to reduce tension lost because another string is used as anchor for the clamp. It only add 2 seconds if you are used to it. I use 2 when I string up to 25 lb most of the time. Many of us argue, there is no need for 4 clamps. 3 will be enough. 1 on the 2 on the side you are working one and 1 on the other side.
    3) It is OK to ask stringing question here in Stringing technique forum and we will help out.

4. Dirchsen

Dirchsen Regular Member

Student
    I think I'll buy 3 flying clamps then. Thank you for the explanation.

5. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    If you using consistent pulling machine (i.e. drop weight, electric, etc), then, only need to use 1 flying clamp on each side as you go, as the next pulling will make up all the tension lost from teh previous piece. Only use 2 flying clamps on the side, when you tie off the last main, as there's no more pulling to make up the loss anymore. ;)

So, 3 is good enough.

6. Mark A

Mark A Regular Member