How to Backhand Clear / Improving Speed

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by yotarou, Dec 1, 2007.

1. yotarou

yotarou Regular Member

I have been playing badminton for two years on my high school's varsity badminton team. In 10th grade, I was ranked last for singles and sixth for doubles, and last year, I was ranked third for singles and second for doubles. But, I really want to improve because I want first for both (yeah, I'm ambitious, and greedy).

Well, I still have a lot to work on, but I guess the two weakest areas
    are backhand clears and improving speed.

I can't seem to backhand clear, if it's directed at the baseline. So, what I do is shuffle awkwardly waaay back and off-court so that I can use my forehand, instead. Usually, this works, but uses up a lot of my stamina, and I can't run up to the net quick enough if the opponent drops. So, I lose a lot of points because of this.

I can sort of use my backhand, but it's relatively weak. I use my thumb and sometimes drive if I can. But, I can't seem to clear it hard and far. And I think it'd really improve my game if I learn how to... So does anyone have any good tips to learn how to?

Also, my footwork sucks. I end up running toward the net if it's a drop, even though I know it'd be quicker if I used fewer steps. Is it shuffle, left, right? Do I hop?? My friend, who is a lot better than me, says to hop once, then push off the leg to get to the birdie faster. And I'm confused--do I have my right foot forward or left foot forward when I'm in ready position? (I'm right-handed.)

Thanks so much in advance. I'd really like to improve before the season starts.

2. extremenanopowe

extremenanopowe Regular Member

Chief Coach. The best and still active.
    www.extreme-power.org or xtremexn.blogspot.com