How do I know if a racket is too stiff/flexible?

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by Tsuioku, Dec 8, 2007.

1. Tsuioku

Tsuioku Regular Member

I recently switched from my old Yonex Isometric 97VF 3UG4 to a Sotx D500 3UG4 and noticed a significant improvement overall. Lately, I've been demo'ing some stiff-rated rackets and basically assumed that any racket I couldn't "hit properly" (ie consistently generate power) was just too stiff for me. It then occurred to me that could it be that the racket is too flexible? Or something else?

Last month, I started playing with a Yonex Cab20 Tour Special 2UG4 and it felt great. There was a noticeable increase in power from the D500.

Dinkalot stated here that the Cab20 Tour is stiffer than the D600. Assuming the stiffness of the Cab20 Tour Special ~ Cab20 Tour (I recall reading that the "Special" versions are just a budget ver of the original) and D600 is stiffer than the D500, the Cab20 Tour Special should be stiffer than the D500.

I've demoed a few other rackets since then and the ones that gave me the deepest impressions were the Gosen Roots Aermet 7900 3UG4, Yonex AT900T 3UG3 and NS9k-S 3UG3. All these rackets which are also rated "stiff".
    With the 7900, hitting was effortless to the point where I was having a hard time trying to NOT hit too far or too high! Hitting was relatively consistent.
    The AT900T gave a noticeable increase in both power and control. It felt terrific and greatly improved my game with very consistent performance.
    Last racket I tried was the NS9k-S. Don't know if it was the transition from a HH racket to a HL racket or simply because I was tired but I couldn't seem to consistently generate power. On occasion though, I'd get a really good hit giving the most powerful smash of all the rackets I've ever demo'ed.