Net drops

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by CkcJsm, Dec 12, 2007.

1. CkcJsm

CkcJsm Regular Member

When you do a net drop. Is your racket face flat or a bit slanted/angled, or very slanted/angled?
    I have heard different people say different things so I am extremelyconfused.
    And you slice your racket right? And if its really close you don't even have to slice it, just touch it?

I am a beginner.
    Thanks.

2. CkcJsm

CkcJsm Regular Member

Also, when you lift birdie high up in the air to the backcourt,When you swing do you rotate or turn your body, so you can "use" your body? Or do you just bend down and swing your arm and use your wrist?
    Friend told me not to turn your body, but another friend told me you should so you can gain power and height.
    (sry couldn't find the edit button)

3. lsh-07

lsh-07 Regular Member

For drop shots, wen u hit the shuttle, ur racquet face should hit the shuttle face on (ie. facing foward). however, after u contact with the shuttle, u should follow through with ur racquet face facing the direction u want to hit in (ie. wen u do a crosscourt drop from the right back corner, ur racquet face should end up facing left). Oh by the way, this is all wrist work so dont use ur whole arm to direct the shuttle and it may take some time adjusting how much wrist u use. As for the lift at the net, using mostly just wrist is preferable as it can allow u to be deceptive later on, otherwise, dont u think ur opponent would be able to tell ur abt to lift if u use a massive swinging action? anyways theres my 2 cents worth.:p

4. delmonk

delmonk Regular Member

software engineer
    When you do drop, you racket face should be facing flat. Angled drops are sliced drops and you should not use them until you master basic drops first.