User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Curious

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,058
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile Curious

    Hey guys, just thinking back to club play a few years back, and i remembered an incident that i had never bothered to chase down.

    what happened was me and my partner were playing doubles. the umpire was from the other team, although she's had many years in badminton, so she'll know lots (i'm not saying she was bias). my partner received a serve before i was ready, he played it, but i called "wait!" for a let. but the umpire said that because my partner had chosen to play the shot, and that it was bad communication and slowness on my part, it was a point to the opposing team.
    which sounds reasonable. and that is why i didn't argue. (partly because she knew more than me, and partly because she was the manager for my junior team).

    i just want to know, should the point have gone to the opposition, or should a let have been played. it's been a long time since the event, and it's never happened to me again. it's all academics now, i'm just curious

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    For what I know, I would give it to the others too(just play on). Your partner receives the serve and just playes the game, so actually he says we are ready. You can call for a let when for instance you see another shuttle falling on the court, or you see some water on the court. But If your not ready it's the mistake of your partner to play, so sorry for you
    (PS: correct me if I'm wrong, I don't know all the rules that well, I'm not empire myself )

    Cryptail

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,657
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    1) According to rule, once the server and receiver is ready, the server should serve without delay. Partners from each side does not have to be ready. It is receiver's responsibility to know if his/her partner is ready or not.
    2) After the the receiver return the serve, when you called "wait", it is a delay/interruption of the game. You are at fault.
    3) Is the ump good looking? Is that why you are not ready?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by silentheart View Post
    1) According to rule, once the server and receiver is ready, the server should serve without delay. Partners from each side does not have to be ready. It is receiver's responsibility to know if his/her partner is ready or not.
    2) After the the receiver return the serve, when you called "wait", it is a delay/interruption of the game. You are at fault.
    3) Is the ump good looking? Is that why you are not ready?

    Hmm that looks normal to me, but what do you need to do when there is an obstacle on the court, like a shuttle ..?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,058
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by silentheart View Post
    1) According to rule, once the server and receiver is ready, the server should serve without delay. Partners from each side does not have to be ready. It is receiver's responsibility to know if his/her partner is ready or not.
    2) After the the receiver return the serve, when you called "wait", it is a delay/interruption of the game. You are at fault.
    3) Is the ump good looking? Is that why you are not ready?
    ROFL, no, she's about 40 years older than me nah, i was just catching my breath. as i've said, her reasoning sounded correct, which is why i didn't, and don't have a problem with it. the one thing i've learnt is that to make sure my partner looks back every time. thanks for clearing it up with me. i'll make sure i don't get caught out again

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    326
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cryptail View Post
    Hmm that looks normal to me, but what do you need to do when there is an obstacle on the court, like a shuttle ..?
    if there's an obstcacle like shuttle or someone else coming onto the court, then that's hindering, which is not the same as the partner not being ready

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You should have dropped your racket to the other side.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    HAHA, I'm sorry. I think that indeed, the other side does get the point. Next time, however, as long as you drop your racket or fall down or signal that you are not ready before the serve, you get a let.

    But it's good now that you've worked it out with your partner.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,058
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hiroisuke View Post
    HAHA, I'm sorry. I think that indeed, the other side does get the point. Next time, however, as long as you drop your racket or fall down or signal that you are not ready before the serve, you get a let.

    But it's good now that you've worked it out with your partner.
    haha, don't be sorry. that's a good idea though, i should roll on the ground and scream, to get my partners attention

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There should not be any undue delay in a service. Once the racquet head of the server starts the backward swing any delay, like shouting "wait" could be considered an undue delay. The start of the service is when the shuttle is first hit by the server. The service is considered delivered when the receiver hits it or misses. The point to the server is correct. You could have been given a yellow card.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,058
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by taneepak View Post
    You could have been given a yellow card.
    ]

    that's a bit harsh for a friendly club game isn't it? like i said, i don't have a problem with it. just curious, is all.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    6,527
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shifty View Post
    ]

    that's a bit harsh for a friendly club game isn't it? like i said, i don't have a problem with it. just curious, is all.
    Yes, a yellow card in a friendly meet would be out of place.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If such ruling is in a professional level of game, I don't have an issue with. However, for recreation level and lower level of tournament, there should be gentleman agreement of a let.

    The reason being is, many recreation level of players tend to rush for a serve, even if the other side is not ready. With inexperienced receiving side, the player natually tend to hit the shuttle, w/o double check the partner's readiness. Also, the receiving side might simply perform a return, under the fully awarness, simply for a free stroke. Just look as the NHL player shooting the empty net, or NBA players give a free 3 pointer, after the whistle blow.

    There are a lot of gray area regarding service readiness. Myself tend to raise the racket, then look down to check and adjust my stance before looking forward to signal the "readiness". A few times, when I face the "rush server", they do serve before I was fully ready (still looking down and adjust foot stance), usually we do gave a let.
    Last edited by LazyBuddy; 01-09-2008 at 12:42 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Curious about 4U
    By aznb3n in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 1
    : 11-03-2011, 04:09 PM
  2. A curious thing
    By Aleik in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 10
    : 04-02-2006, 08:31 PM
  3. I AM just curious
    By Chesire Cat in forum Jonas Rasmussen Forum
    Replies: 18
    : 06-01-2004, 10:47 PM
  4. curious about stringing
    By mr personality in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 17
    : 01-29-2004, 11:59 PM
  5. curious about stringing
    By mr personality in forum General Forum
    Replies: 0
    : 01-28-2004, 12:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •