User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is this a Foot Fault?

    Can some one tell me if this a foot fault in Doubles.

    When you are playing doubles and taking a serve you can stand any where with in the doubles court to serve which is the front line, the inner back line, the line up the middle and the outer line on the left or right?

    I've been told you cant stand past the inner line on the left or right as this is would make the serve illegal. I thought this line was only used in singles?

    Look forward to some one replying,

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    210
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi,

    I donīt think this would be a fault, but the question is:

    What would be the advantage of serving from the outside?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    alright so yes doubles court you know how its wide aka all the way to the side which is where your refering to standing inside the "allys" well yes you are allowed to stand there but the thing is its not benificial in any way to you at all.

    When you stand there to serve you leave so much court open for your partner to cover and so much open court for your opponents to play a shot into so really theres not much of a benifit, yes you can get good angles and all that but in the long run highly dont see any benifits.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As long as your foot doesnt move and the serve is legal itself.

    I dont think that serving on the outerlie is advisable. Mainly its used to serve up the line.

    But it really puts your partner under pressure if the receiver can cut the shuttle off. Serving on the outer line opens up the court, and you would need to move quickly to cover the return.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it's legal to serve at the outer line, but should only be done to either surprise your opponent or if you're play amatures who doesn't know how to handle the flip serve down the corner

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bodie78 View Post
    Can some one tell me if this a foot fault in Doubles.

    When you are playing doubles and taking a serve you can stand any where with in the doubles court to serve which is the front line, the inner back line, the line up the middle and the outer line on the left or right?

    I've been told you cant stand past the inner line on the left or right as this is would make the serve illegal. I thought this line was only used in singles?

    Look forward to some one replying,
    Receiving a serve, or serving?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    When you are Serving.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,064
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    why would you stand on the outer edge when receiving serve? that's a really odd place to stand. but no, it's not illegal, if all you are is curious.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In theory, it's legal.

    However, such serve only works in low level of playing, as many other pointed out, an experienced receiver will return the shuttle effectly, and your partner is in big trouble as s/he needs to cover much more court than suppose to.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LazyBuddy View Post
    In theory, it's legal.
    It's also legal in practise

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    : 01-30-2012, 09:10 PM
  2. foot injury, pain on top of the foot
    By Mr.Chu in forum Injuries
    Replies: 13
    : 06-04-2010, 02:32 PM
  3. is this a fault?
    By li00075 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 12
    : 03-05-2010, 12:30 PM
  4. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 01:48 AM
  5. fault or not?
    By samohtom in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 17
    : 10-25-2002, 09:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •