Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread: Is this a Foot Fault?
02-01-2008, 04:16 PM #1
Is this a Foot Fault?
Can some one tell me if this a foot fault in Doubles.
When you are playing doubles and taking a serve you can stand any where with in the doubles court to serve which is the front line, the inner back line, the line up the middle and the outer line on the left or right?
I've been told you cant stand past the inner line on the left or right as this is would make the serve illegal. I thought this line was only used in singles?
Look forward to some one replying,
02-01-2008, 07:16 PM #2
I donīt think this would be a fault, but the question is:
What would be the advantage of serving from the outside?
02-01-2008, 09:37 PM #3
alright so yes doubles court you know how its wide aka all the way to the side which is where your refering to standing inside the "allys" well yes you are allowed to stand there but the thing is its not benificial in any way to you at all.
When you stand there to serve you leave so much court open for your partner to cover and so much open court for your opponents to play a shot into so really theres not much of a benifit, yes you can get good angles and all that but in the long run highly dont see any benifits.
02-01-2008, 10:37 PM #4
As long as your foot doesnt move and the serve is legal itself.
I dont think that serving on the outerlie is advisable. Mainly its used to serve up the line.
But it really puts your partner under pressure if the receiver can cut the shuttle off. Serving on the outer line opens up the court, and you would need to move quickly to cover the return.
02-02-2008, 12:51 AM #5
it's legal to serve at the outer line, but should only be done to either surprise your opponent or if you're play amatures who doesn't know how to handle the flip serve down the corner
02-02-2008, 09:25 AM #6
02-02-2008, 10:56 AM #7
When you are Serving.
02-03-2008, 02:34 AM #8
why would you stand on the outer edge when receiving serve? that's a really odd place to stand. but no, it's not illegal, if all you are is curious.
02-04-2008, 01:43 PM #9
In theory, it's legal.
However, such serve only works in low level of playing, as many other pointed out, an experienced receiver will return the shuttle effectly, and your partner is in big trouble as s/he needs to cover much more court than suppose to.
02-05-2008, 07:36 AM #10
By pcll99 in forum InjuriesReplies: 5: 01-30-2012, 08:10 PM
By Mr.Chu in forum InjuriesReplies: 13: 06-04-2010, 01:32 PM
By li00075 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 12: 03-05-2010, 11:30 AM
By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 57: 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
By samohtom in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 17: 10-25-2002, 08:29 AM