User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 18 to 34 of 48

Thread: Official Rules

  1. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Okay, thanks! Haha xD
    We should make this thread the "rule thread," where people could ask questions about rules and get answers! Lol xD

  2. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Another question, haha xD
    Touching the net = Lost already right?
    So if you touch the net by accident, your opponent gets a point?

  3. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Elixau View Post
    Another question, haha xD
    Touching the net = Lost already right?
    So if you touch the net by accident, your opponent gets a point?
    if you touch the net before the shuttle touches the ground then you lose the point automatically, but if you touch the net after the shuttle touches the ground then you get the point provided you didnt touch it before the shuttle struck the ground.

  4. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ANOTHER question, yes, I have lots of questions xD Haha.
    Um, how do you signal to your opponent that your not ready? Do you raise your hand? If they serve, do they reserve?
    And how does "let" work?

  5. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ya, you might have seen some ppl do this, they look down and raise their hands. but if they do serve, and your not ready, dont touch the shuttle cuz if you do thats a sign that you were ready (even though you werent)

  6. #23
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Elixau View Post
    ANOTHER question, yes, I have lots of questions xD Haha.
    Um, how do you signal to your opponent that your not ready? Do you raise your hand? If they serve, do they reserve?
    And how does "let" work?
    to signify your not ready i keep my head down and put my hand up that seems to be the general consenses but be aware that they might serve as soon as you stick your head up which could work to your disadvantage.

    if they serve when your not ready then you say so but you have to actually be not ready and it has to show and they will reserve it.

    you play a "let" when another shuttle lands on your court you have to call it though, when you strike the shuttle it hits the net rolls over but gets caught on you ropponents side before they have a chance to hit it, or when another player comes onto your court in the middle of a match. during those situations you play a let which means that the person who served to start the point will serve it again as he did before. There are other circumstances too but those are stated in the rules.

  7. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smash_master View Post
    the racqiuet head has to be below your wrist etc
    Not any more. The racquet head only has to be pointing downwards under the new laws. The shuttle has to be below your waist at the time of contact.

  8. #25
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CWB001 View Post
    Not any more. The racquet head only has to be pointing downwards under the new laws. The shuttle has to be below your waist at the time of contact.
    ah right they did change that part.

  9. #26
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Some more questions, haha xD
    Can my racket go over the net?
    In doubles, the partner who isn't serving, can he/she stand in between the court?
    And... Can we be out of the court?

  10. #27
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco/Davis California
    Posts
    270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    can you use 2 rackets at the same time, one in each hand? Or can you switch arms in the middle of the game, like you are playing with your left, and then you do some prince of tennis drama move and you toss the racket to your right arm and play with your right arm?

  11. #28
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smash_master View Post
    if you touch the net before the shuttle touches the ground then you lose the point automatically, but if you touch the net after the shuttle touches the ground then you get the point provided you didnt touch it before the shuttle struck the ground.
    Last I checked there was also a rule saying that if the shuttle had hit the net and had clearly started to fall back down the net on your opponents side then that was the end of the point and so you would be able to touch the net before the shuttle hit the ground, last I checked anyway.

  12. #29
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elixau View Post
    Some more questions, haha xD
    Can my racket go over the net?
    In doubles, the partner who isn't serving, can he/she stand in between the court?
    And... Can we be out of the court?
    your racquet can only go over the net when you follow through but you have to have made contact with the shuttle on you rside of the net first else its a fault and you lose the point.

    the person who is not serving is allowed to stand anywhere on the court they can straddle the center line of they want but they cannot obstruct the view of the shuttle from the opponents.

    be out of the court well yes you can but obviously the has problems, if you dive for a shot and roll off the court then yeah nothing against that but then if its singles then the court is open and you have to recover fast if its doubles your partner would be there to cover it.

  13. #30
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azwok View Post
    Last I checked there was also a rule saying that if the shuttle had hit the net and had clearly started to fall back down the net on your opponents side then that was the end of the point and so you would be able to touch the net before the shuttle hit the ground, last I checked anyway.
    i havnt heard about that one before, sounds a lil weird that if you net roll it and its going down then the rally is over since it is possible for you opponent to get it back.

  14. #31
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by NoName1225 View Post
    can you use 2 rackets at the same time, one in each hand? Or can you switch arms in the middle of the game, like you are playing with your left, and then you do some prince of tennis drama move and you toss the racket to your right arm and play with your right arm?
    you cant use 2 racquets at the same time, you can however switch arms theres no rule about switching the racquet between your hands in a match wheather its benifical to you though well that all depends on how good both your hands are.

  15. #32
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So, I have to hit the birdie before passing the net right?

  16. #33
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    Posts
    1,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Elixau View Post
    So, I have to hit the birdie before passing the net right?
    you have to make contact with the shuttle on your side of the net, then your racquet can brifley follow through over the net.

  17. #34
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    126
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smash_master View Post
    i havnt heard about that one before, sounds a lil weird that if you net roll it and its going down then the rally is over since it is possible for you opponent to get it back.
    This is the one I was talking about:

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:

    15.2 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the strikerís side of the net;

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help regarding the rules
    By todd89 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 4
    : 08-22-2011, 05:35 AM
  2. LD rules!
    By LD rules! in forum Introduction
    Replies: 11
    : 04-08-2009, 01:39 PM
  3. Rules
    By LightningChi in forum General Forum
    Replies: 9
    : 06-20-2007, 12:16 AM
  4. IBF Rules???
    By elmiyemb in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 4
    : 02-27-2007, 02:53 AM
  5. Rules
    By kaustubh in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    : 01-16-2006, 03:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •