User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Is it a fault

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is it a fault

    Hello,

    I have been looking at the rules and I could not find any answer to my question.

    I know the striker can follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke; but what if he touches my racket while doing so? Is that a fault on my side or his...

    I am asking this because it occured yesterday, during play, I have seen and I have done the following many times.

    During a play, I am near the net and I raise my racket net in front of my opponent in hope that the opponent will send the shuttle right on my racket, leading to a very nice, quick and uncatchable return.

    If my opponent is in a situation to smash, I understand that I am preventing my opponent to follow the shuttle over the net... is that obstruction.

    If my opponent is in a defencives position, or simply playing at the net, following up the shuttle is not really possible so I guess I am in a legal position, or is it still obstruction.

    Could someone be kind enough to clarify those issue for me.

    Thanks a lot...

    And by the way, sorry for my english...

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Law 13.4.4 is the one you could not find. It says:

    13 It shall be a 'fault':

    ...

    13.4 if, in play, a player:

    ...

    13.4.4 obstructs an opponent, i.e. prevents an opponent from making a legal stroke where the shuttle is followed over the net;

    So, yes, it is a fault. However, the obstruction must be real, usually demonstrated by a racquet clash after the stroke. The opponent cannot just claim obstruction when your racquet is, say, a foot or so your side of the net and he wasn't actually obstructed.
    Last edited by CWB001; 05-10-2008 at 01:28 PM.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks!

    I think it covers it all....

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Yuen long, Hong Kong
    Posts
    210
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes,

    it has been discussed quite recently in one of the posts, im sorry but cant find it atm,

    but the gist is this,

    basically your opponent may follow through over to ur side of the net, and if the umpire judges you to be obstructing that follow through 'in any way', then it is indeed a fault.

    and YOU lose a point. therefore, if you actually clash rackets it is defo a fault.

    hope that helps

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ok thanks you help is appreciated...

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Is it fault ?
    By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 03-05-2010, 12:37 PM
  2. Net fault
    By loweechng in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 03-25-2009, 05:25 AM
  3. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 01:48 AM
  4. Who is at fault?
    By Dendrobius in forum General Forum
    Replies: 34
    : 06-26-2006, 05:08 PM
  5. Is it a fault??????????
    By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 06-10-2005, 12:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •