"Bang" sound from clears

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by em160, Mar 6, 2008.

1. em160

em160 Regular Member

None
    hey guys,

i've been playing badminton for about 2 years now, but only this year i started playing for my high school team. i've noticed a few things during practice that i've tried to imitate (no, they arent "fancy" strokes)...

some of the players that have been on the team for almost 4 years now and the coach produce a very loud "bang" whenever they do a forehand or (sometimes) a backhand clear.

my clears dont make much sound and don't go nearly as far as theirs. i used the search on these forums (which are EXTREMELY helpful by the way) to try and find anything about clears (i found some technique things, but they don't explain HOW to get the sound).

i haven't ever had any real coaching, and i'm sure there are many things wrong with my technique, but i was wondering if there is anything specific to producing the bang sound.

any ideas? thanks :)

2. taneepak

taneepak Regular Member

Designing and producing quality feather shuttlecoc
    That bang sound comes primarily from a fast racquet head speed. For any given racquet head speed higher tension of the string will produce a tighter and crisper bang.

3. aerotus70

aerotus70 Regular Member

:D

try hitting the feather will have some sound also

4. jhirata

jhirata Regular Member

If you can do a decent baseline to baseline clear, then the big 'bang' sound should be there.

5. zydoce

zydoce Regular Member

Student
    i enjoyed the sound when they smashed.. so admire those guys who can produce the sound when they smash.. though i can do a baseline to baseline clear until it nearly reach the roof, but still i can't produce the sound..

6. em160

em160 Regular Member

None