Lower Back Muscle Strain

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by total19, Apr 1, 2008.

1. total19

total19 Regular Member

Hi, I am relatively new to badminton, have only been playing regularly (3 hrs/week) 6 months ago. I really enjoy playing badminton, I give my heart and soul to it and dream about it most of the time. I have never had any coach and no advance level playing experience. I used to be very active in all kind of sports (especially basketball), but stopped completely four years ago when I got to university..... I started badminton half a year ago as I thought sitting in front of the computer all day is just a sin....

After a few weeks of refreshing at the begining, I really fall in love with the game, I started to push myself alittle harder, coz I knew that I could cope. Playing Friday nite 3hrs, saturday morning another 3 hrs, sunday another 2 hrs. Sometimes miss dinner or lunch just to play. These all halt at one time when my lower back muscle calls me to stop. It is at night when my muscles cooled down and it became so stiff that my back coudnt even straighten. Imagine an elderly with a walking stick....but swap that with a face of a bloke who is in his early 20s. Its painful just to stand up.

It was recovered 3/4 weeks later, but ever since, when I try to do any sport again I can feel that its about to come again. If I really have to push in a game, I usually end up as the same elderly for the next whole week.

I have seem a doctor about this, and she said this is a common stress and I was given some painkiller (more specially NSAIDs).

I dont know if any expert here can give me some advise. It may be normal to you guys..... or you may have seen it. One reason may be that I have gain alot of weight over the last couple of years, with no exercise, my muscles were so unused for any exercise..... or may be my posture is so bad that uses the wrong muscle....

Many Thanks.

2. Oldhand

Oldhand Moderator

Broadcast Systems Integration