Results 18 to 27 of 27
04-14-2008, 07:57 AM #18
Er, how about "all double hits, whetheer accidental or deliberate, are faults unless made in one stroke on the frame and the string".
04-14-2008, 09:25 AM #19
I'm sure you have seen, or maybe even experienced yourself, that with one stroke you can hit the shuttle twice, mostly accidentally.
I have experienced many times when chipping the golf ball that I can hit it twice as my club hit the ball on the follow through when I strike it too slow. But in this case it is not a fault, it is two strokes instead of one.
04-14-2008, 09:58 AM #20
Uncle Loh, we should play golf together sometimes.
Besides Badminton, Golf is my other equal passion.
I'm so much a technical junkie, the golf swing has no more secrets to me. 300 yards miaow !
And everyone who plays golf and knows the double hit on the same swing can easily extrapolate to badminton
04-14-2008, 10:26 AM #21
okay, so double hit is NOT legal, only hitting on frame at string at the same time is okay.
04-14-2008, 11:32 AM #22
But I got so tired of my double hits that I have now given up golf. Also I never hit farther than 200 meters (here we use metric) and got out-hit by the young lads most of the time, which is often demoralizing. So instead of getting on the par-5 green in regulation 3 strokes, I would be lucky to make it in 4!
I have less problem with badminton, so I continued. But here again, I got out-smashed by my younger opponents most times! Aiyah!
Last edited by Loh; 04-14-2008 at 11:37 AM.
04-14-2008, 12:26 PM #23
04-14-2008, 04:06 PM #24
Alright since were talking about double hits, legal ones and ones that result in a fault i was doing a little searching and i remember there being the slow motion video of the AE open i believe it was. Anyways theres a serve in there and well ive edited the video and cut that scene out so let me know what you think. It is present near the end of the clip and if you watch it appears that the shuttle hits the racquet 2 times but i dont recall there being a fault called during the match itself so therefore a legeal double hit caught by a high speed camera. I uploaded it to imeem cause its not worth it to upload it on youtube.
04-14-2008, 04:29 PM #25
Many shots are technically double hits (especially slices), but that doesn't cause them to be faulted.
This law is intended to stop players from playing volleyball-style shots. If you need a high-speed camera to be sure of the double hit, then it certainly isn't within the spirit of the law.
04-14-2008, 07:54 PM #26
the rule should be changed to...as long as the bird is traveling in only 1 significant direction after the double hit, its ok..aka, like a slice
04-14-2008, 11:41 PM #27
if the double hit rule is enforced, then we wouldn't have slices, be cause it's pretty much a double hit...or results in double hits if mishit =\
By kimdongmoon in forum Badminton Tournament Video SharingReplies: 0: 05-30-2011, 09:42 PM
By Wonger8 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 17: 10-06-2006, 07:45 AM
By woodhead666 in forum General ForumReplies: 12: 03-20-2006, 04:06 AM
By Eggss in forum General ForumReplies: 4: 03-12-2006, 11:46 PM
By boulie in forum General ForumReplies: 1: 03-08-2006, 01:29 PM