User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Wats the ruling to this?

    Hi everyone,

    I was wondering if someone can clear this ruling for me. I was playing badminton with someone and he did a very good drop shot on me. Whilst I was trying to retrieve the drop shot I noticed that the person was at the net waving his raquet about, either trying to put me off or incept the birdie.

    I was wondering if this was allowed? Lets say his raquet, DID NOT cross my side.

  2. #2
    Regular Member jhirata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand, New Z
    Posts
    2,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dolphin123 View Post
    Hi everyone,

    I was wondering if someone can clear this ruling for me. I was playing badminton with someone and he did a very good drop shot on me. Whilst I was trying to retrieve the drop shot I noticed that the person was at the net waving his raquet about, either trying to put me off or incept the birdie.

    I was wondering if this was allowed? Lets say his raquet, DID NOT cross my side.
    Yeah.. it's allowed. But there's a solution.. do a shallow, flick lift.. like Peter Gade's trademark shot. Well.. just hold the racquet at one position for like half a second as if you're going to drop it back at him, then flick it.. but in order to do this, you need good footwork.

    There are other solutions as well.. but the most important thing you need is footwork.. because if you drop it back at him, he can just lift it and you'll be in trouble if your footwork isn't fast/efficient enough..

  3. #3
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,564
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Racket waving is only illegal if he actually hits the bird while it's on your side of the net. Anything up to this point is OK (and is sometimes a legitimate tactic).

    If it's bothering you, use a mid-court push, or do another lift and wait for something more advantageous.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Guys,

    Hows about if he was waving slighty OVER my court but does not hit the birdie. Is this allowed? Will it be a fault straight away as soon as his raquet goes over my side?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dolphin123 View Post
    Thanks Guys,

    Hows about if he was waving slighty OVER my court but does not hit the birdie. Is this allowed? Will it be a fault straight away as soon as his raquet goes over my side?

    Thanks
    an opponent's racket is suppose to remain on his/her side I believe so if he goes over the net into your territory illegal....

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm not sure about the new rulings now but from my limited memories point of view, it may be ruled as interference if the guys waving his racquet continously unless he raised his racquet & stayed up then it is legitimate.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Where else?
    Posts
    2,146
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what about if the guy just places his racket at the net? this happens mostly in doubles where the front opponent places his racket right above the tape, so to speak, when im trying to retrieve a net shot. i believe this is illegal because i don't see pros doing it. someone clear about this?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,373
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Under rule 13 - Faults, the following subsections
    13.4.2. invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except that the striker
    may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the
    initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net;
    13.4.3. invades an opponent’s court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent
    is obstructed or distracted; or
    13.4.4. obstructs an opponent, i.e. prevents an opponent from making a legal stroke where the
    shuttle is followed over the net;
    13.4.5. deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures;
    So 13.4.5 should cover the distraction of the player staying in front and waving his racket around and 13.4.4 should cover the obstruction of having his racket at the top of the net. It's okay for the player to raise his racket to the top of the net to intercept your shot AFTER you have played it but not before (as that would be obstruction).

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Edmonton AB, Canada
    Posts
    458
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    like winex said, i pretty sure the only time he is allowed to have his racquet over the net onto your side of the court is when he is following through on a stroke. If he is waving the racquet there while you are taking a stroke, you could call obstruction and say he was preventing you from following through on your stroke - and you get the point.

  10. #10
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,814
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question What is an obstruction to a stroke?

    Quote Originally Posted by dolphin123 View Post

    I was wondering if someone can clear this ruling for me. I was playing badminton with someone and he did a very good drop shot on me. Whilst I was trying to retrieve the drop shot I noticed that the person was at the net waving his racket about, either trying to put me off or incept the birdie.

    I was wondering if this was allowed?

    Quote Originally Posted by dolphin123 View Post

    Hows about if he was waving slightly OVER my court but does not hit the birdie. Is this allowed? Will it be a fault straight away as soon as his racket goes over my side?

    Quote Originally Posted by Winex West Can View Post

    Under rule 13 - Faults, the following subsections

    13.4.5 should cover the distraction of the player staying in front and waving his racket around, and

    13.4.4 should cover the obstruction of having his racket at the top of the net.

    It's okay for the player to raise his racket to the top of the net to intercept your shot AFTER you have played it but not before (as that would be obstruction).

    .
    Hi dolphin123,

    What was said by Winex West Can is correct.

    Strange enough, CCC Badminton went through explaining this rule yesterday at our MSAC Sunday session. It can be found at Post #222, located here.

    I will cut and paste the info for you, as shown below.

    ====== ====== start "SHOT" Vs "STROKE" ====== ======

    We need to define "SHOT" and "STROKE".
    SHOT = Flight of the shuttle.
    STROKE = Swing of the rackethead.

    You can block the SHOT, but you cannot block/obstruct the STROKE.

    If the shuttle is very close to the net, then there are 2 relevant laws here;
    (1) Your opponent must hit the shuttle with the point of impact on his/her side of the court.
    (2) Your opponent is allowed to have his/her racket head to follow through over the net into your side of the court.

    So, if your racket head is so close to the net that it prevented your opponent from doing the follow-through with his/her racket head over the net into your side of the court, then it is illegal.

    Usually the umpire makes the decision by judging whether the rackets will clash or not.

    My advice is... still block the shot, but block it further away from the net, so that no clashing of rackets can occur. It is then a LEGAL BLOCK of a SHOT. But it's easier said than done.

    BTW, please refer to these 2 threads located at:
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...ad.php?t=35128
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...ad.php?t=50342

    ====== ====== end "SHOT" Vs "STROKE" ====== ======

    Cheers... chris@ccc

    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 04-27-2008 at 08:35 PM.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Where else?
    Posts
    2,146
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by t3tsubo View Post
    like winex said, i pretty sure the only time he is allowed to have his racquet over the net onto your side of the court is when he is following through on a stroke. If he is waving the racquet there while you are taking a stroke, you could call obstruction and say he was preventing you from following through on your stroke - and you get the point.
    difficult when you play without umpires though.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post Anticipation/ Deliberate Distraction; Shot & Stroke.

    It is perfectly within The Laws for a player to wave his/her racket in anticipation of a shot. Especially in the case given where it was in response to a drop the receiving player can place his racket as close to the net on his side as he dares.

    In this instance the shuttle must have been below the level of the top of the net and therefore there would not be case of the follow through from the striker being obstructed.

    If, on the otherhand, the shuttle is above the top level of the net the receiver must leave sufficient room for a follow through by the striker's racket regardless of whether the striker actually selects that shot option or not.

    Essentially, the closer the shuttle is to and above the net the further back the receiver must keep his racket, therefore allowing a full follow through.

    It is incorrect to say that a player can only intercept a shot after it has been hit. A player can do whatever he or she likes as long as they do not cause an obstruction (as above), a distraction or a delay.

    It is the umpire's decision as to whether a player is just playing their game or attempting to distract an opponent. An umpire is going to fault a player for shouting or some similar action which was clearly and without question a deliberate attempt to distract. If an umpire feels that the racket waving is an issue he/she is more likely to have a word with the player involved and to see where things go from there.

    Finally, the racket following over the net as part of a stroke in which the shuttle was hit is clearly ok and within the rules. A swish and miss and the racket going over the net as part of the follow through is, strictly speaking, a fault.

    In my interpretation though, if the umpire deems the attempt to have been a sincere one and not an effort to distract then they should not make a call and just let the game proceed.

    Consider for a moment though the scenario of a striker attempting to recover a drop from very close to the net. The receiver is allowed to have his racket ready, close to the top of the net just waiting for the shuttle to pop up and to be gratefully dispensed with. The striker, though, is entitled to follow through under the net with body or racket. The receiver, standing too close to where the shuttle is falling is causing an obstruction and this is a fault. So, you can obstruct with your feet and your racket!

    Mr. Fault

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    During club level of playing, there are a lot of more gray areas than a formal tournament plays. Waving rackets in front of the net like this is commonly seen.

    If you don't feel confident about the shot (either worry about your body or racket being hit), let it go, as the game result is not that important. If you do want to make a shot, the safetest stroke (in return quality and safety), if a good net drop return. This way, it's harder for the opponent to make a return back, and if s/he swing the racket like a sword, s/he will likely hit the net, which is an obvious fault.

Similar Threads

  1. Mixed Doubles Ruling?
    By xLittle21Yaox in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    : 04-10-2009, 12:42 AM
  2. wats better??
    By B@dD13_g@l in forum Market Place
    Replies: 3
    : 07-10-2007, 03:00 AM
  3. ruling needed...
    By p3rc_ in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 03-22-2007, 08:37 PM
  4. Need a Ruling on Head Shot
    By Danny Boy in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 26
    : 03-05-2007, 12:57 PM
  5. NEWSFLASH: IBF set ruling on player's attire
    By bc in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 02-11-2001, 12:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •