User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Fault or Not ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wolverhampton - UK
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Fault or Not ?

    Could someone please help with a question,

    I played a shot and the shuttle landed in but went around the side of the post, I am sure that this is a legal shot - am I correct ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So you hit a shot that went around the outside of the post but landed in. Am I to assume you hit the shuttle when it was 'out' but it landed in.

    Sounds legal to me! nothing stopping you hitting a shot outside of the court except perhaps your partner wanting you to leave it

    like this
    Last edited by Retro_10s; 04-19-2008 at 02:27 PM.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think that what he means is that he took the shot from his side of the court, probably out or very close to the line, and the shot went around the netpost and landed in in his opponent courtside.
    A few years ago, some associations would have said the shot is legal and the point is yours, but since the last modifications to badminton rulings, you find this (extracted from IBF official rules):
    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.3. if in play, the shuttle:
    13.3.3. fails to pass over the net;
    Which would mean your opponent has the point, since your shot did not pass over the net.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah i see. Hmmmm. depends a lot on the height of the shuttle too then?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Nashua, New Hampshire
    Posts
    256
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sorry, no boomerang snakes allowed in the sport of badminton...

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Nashua, New Hampshire
    Posts
    256
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8Qsi8dW1sY

    [no embedding possible? ;o]

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Desa Paya Mengkuang, Gelang Patah,Johor, Malaysia
    Posts
    86
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted View Post
    Sorry, no boomerang snakes allowed in the sport of badminton...
    you mean kaidoh in prince of tennis main skill???huahua

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Retro_10s View Post
    Ah i see. Hmmmm. depends a lot on the height of the shuttle too then?
    No. It would be a fault if the shuttle were higher than the net but did not pass directly over it. The law changed in 2006, and this was one of the minor modifications; previously it would have been legal.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    fault indeed, but a terrible rule change IMHO

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How can you tell if the shuttle went over the net in tight cases. If the shuttle is 20 feet in the air (for example), how can you tell if it 5 inches in or 5 inches out?

    If the rule change is as describe in earlier posts, it is indeed a terrible rule .

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Don't be silly! It is merely to provide clarification of a slightly ambiguous, but extremely rare, area. How many times would this happen in real life? That a player, standing outside his own court, would be foolish enough to hit a falling shuttle back?

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK, Shropshire
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    An old coach once told me that you could serve around the net, (lean very far out, and aim for the back of the service area) so maybe it was to get rid of this?

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How many times would this happen in real life? That a player, standing outside his own court, would be foolish enough to hit a falling shuttle back?
    how about when it's a very hard call on the line and you hit it back down the outer tramline..... not everyone can call a shot so easily.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Retro_10s View Post
    not everyone can call a shot so easily.
    And even fewer people have the skill to hit the shuttle along a line accurately. If you are going to be so foolish as to return a shot that is falling wide, at least aim well into the opponent's courts so that you have a chance of landing it in - and that way it will go over the net.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Worcestershire, UK
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I completely agree,... It would be foolish for someone of my standard, or apparently yours, to hit a shot like that when you should just leave it to fall out. But for a beginner?.. not foolish at all when they're just learning and how to control the shuttle and racket.

    In anycase,.. It's a fault. Case solved

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CWB001 View Post
    Don't be silly! It is merely to provide clarification of a slightly ambiguous, but extremely rare, area. How many times would this happen in real life? That a player, standing outside his own court, would be foolish enough to hit a falling shuttle back?
    Assuming things as being silly too often and one of these days one of these things will come back and bite us in the ass.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Posts
    819
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by exalted View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8Qsi8dW1sY

    [no embedding possible? ;o]
    you do know that there IS an episode where kaidoh does this in a badminton game, only to be called a fault by the umpire and his peers . i don't remember which episode # or season, but it was a "special" episode in which they try different sports

Similar Threads

  1. Is it fault ?
    By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 03-05-2010, 12:37 PM
  2. Net fault
    By loweechng in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 03-25-2009, 05:25 AM
  3. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 01:48 AM
  4. Who is at fault?
    By Dendrobius in forum General Forum
    Replies: 34
    : 06-26-2006, 05:08 PM
  5. Is it a fault??????????
    By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 06-10-2005, 12:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •