Results 1 to 17 of 17
Thread: Fault or Not ?
04-19-2008, 02:16 PM #1
Fault or Not ?
Could someone please help with a question,
I played a shot and the shuttle landed in but went around the side of the post, I am sure that this is a legal shot - am I correct ?
04-19-2008, 02:19 PM #2
So you hit a shot that went around the outside of the post but landed in. Am I to assume you hit the shuttle when it was 'out' but it landed in.
Sounds legal to me! nothing stopping you hitting a shot outside of the court except perhaps your partner wanting you to leave it
Last edited by Retro_10s; 04-19-2008 at 02:27 PM.
04-19-2008, 02:28 PM #3
I think that what he means is that he took the shot from his side of the court, probably out or very close to the line, and the shot went around the netpost and landed in in his opponent courtside.
A few years ago, some associations would have said the shot is legal and the point is yours, but since the last modifications to badminton rulings, you find this (extracted from IBF official rules):
13. FAULTSIt shall be a ‘fault’:
13.3. if in play, the shuttle:
13.3.3. fails to pass over the net;
Which would mean your opponent has the point, since your shot did not pass over the net.
04-19-2008, 02:30 PM #4
Ah i see. Hmmmm. depends a lot on the height of the shuttle too then?
04-20-2008, 03:31 AM #5
Sorry, no boomerang snakes allowed in the sport of badminton...
04-20-2008, 04:53 AM #6
04-20-2008, 11:02 AM #7
04-20-2008, 12:30 PM #8
04-20-2008, 12:41 PM #9
fault indeed, but a terrible rule change IMHO
04-20-2008, 12:54 PM #10
How can you tell if the shuttle went over the net in tight cases. If the shuttle is 20 feet in the air (for example), how can you tell if it 5 inches in or 5 inches out?
If the rule change is as describe in earlier posts, it is indeed a terrible rule .
04-20-2008, 01:21 PM #11
Don't be silly! It is merely to provide clarification of a slightly ambiguous, but extremely rare, area. How many times would this happen in real life? That a player, standing outside his own court, would be foolish enough to hit a falling shuttle back?
04-20-2008, 01:31 PM #12
An old coach once told me that you could serve around the net, (lean very far out, and aim for the back of the service area) so maybe it was to get rid of this?
04-20-2008, 06:58 PM #13
How many times would this happen in real life? That a player, standing outside his own court, would be foolish enough to hit a falling shuttle back?
04-21-2008, 05:40 AM #14
04-21-2008, 06:16 AM #15
I completely agree,... It would be foolish for someone of my standard, or apparently yours, to hit a shot like that when you should just leave it to fall out. But for a beginner?.. not foolish at all when they're just learning and how to control the shuttle and racket.
In anycase,.. It's a fault. Case solved
04-21-2008, 08:47 AM #16
04-21-2008, 09:52 PM #17
By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 14: 03-05-2010, 12:37 PM
By loweechng in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 13: 03-25-2009, 05:25 AM
By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 57: 01-13-2009, 01:48 AM
By Dendrobius in forum General ForumReplies: 34: 06-26-2006, 05:08 PM
By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 9: 06-10-2005, 12:31 PM