Results 1 to 5 of 5
Thread: Is it a fault
05-10-2008, 12:08 PM #1
Is it a fault
I have been looking at the rules and I could not find any answer to my question.
I know the striker can follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke; but what if he touches my racket while doing so? Is that a fault on my side or his...
I am asking this because it occured yesterday, during play, I have seen and I have done the following many times.
During a play, I am near the net and I raise my racket net in front of my opponent in hope that the opponent will send the shuttle right on my racket, leading to a very nice, quick and uncatchable return.
If my opponent is in a situation to smash, I understand that I am preventing my opponent to follow the shuttle over the net... is that obstruction.
If my opponent is in a defencives position, or simply playing at the net, following up the shuttle is not really possible so I guess I am in a legal position, or is it still obstruction.
Could someone be kind enough to clarify those issue for me.
Thanks a lot...
And by the way, sorry for my english...
05-10-2008, 12:24 PM #2
Law 13.4.4 is the one you could not find. It says:
13 It shall be a 'fault':
13.4 if, in play, a player:
13.4.4 obstructs an opponent, i.e. prevents an opponent from making a legal stroke where the shuttle is followed over the net;
So, yes, it is a fault. However, the obstruction must be real, usually demonstrated by a racquet clash after the stroke. The opponent cannot just claim obstruction when your racquet is, say, a foot or so your side of the net and he wasn't actually obstructed.
Last edited by CWB001; 05-10-2008 at 12:28 PM.
05-10-2008, 02:51 PM #3
I think it covers it all....
05-10-2008, 03:19 PM #4
it has been discussed quite recently in one of the posts, im sorry but cant find it atm,
but the gist is this,
basically your opponent may follow through over to ur side of the net, and if the umpire judges you to be obstructing that follow through 'in any way', then it is indeed a fault.
and YOU lose a point. therefore, if you actually clash rackets it is defo a fault.
hope that helps
05-12-2008, 09:27 AM #5
Ok thanks you help is appreciated...
By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 14: 03-05-2010, 11:37 AM
By loweechng in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 13: 03-25-2009, 04:25 AM
By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 57: 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
By Dendrobius in forum General ForumReplies: 34: 06-26-2006, 04:08 PM
By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 9: 06-10-2005, 11:31 AM