User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 61
  1. #1
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default ANNOUNCEMENT : BC server downtime - June 29th, 2.45PM PDT

    what is happening: BC server will be down for a span of 4+ hours

    when is this happening: tentatively will be June 29th, 2008, 2:45PM PDT

    why is this happening: server upgrade

    who will be affected: all our dear BC members

    thanks!

    - BadmintonCentral.com Administration.

  2. #2
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,655
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink THAILAND GRAND PRIX GOLD 2008: Expected MS Final between LD and BP

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post

    what is happening: BC server will be down for a span of 4+ hours
    when is this happening: tentatively will be June 29th, 2008, 9PM PDT
    why is this happening: regular server backup
    who will be affected: all our dear BC members

    thanks!

    - BadmintonCentral.com Administration.

    .
    kwun ... Thank you for informing us.

    It's just after the Finals of the SCG THAILAND GRAND PRIX GOLD 2008.

    Perhaps the span of 4+ hours for the server backup could cool down comments for the expected MS Final between Lin Dan and Boonsak Ponsana.

    Cheers... chris@ccc

    .

  3. #3
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    haha. it would be cruel to shutdown the server during the finals...

    we will see how it goes. if there are tons of good discussions, maybe i will postpone the downtime.

  4. #4
    Moderator drifit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Posts
    6,428
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think it will be ok for 4 hrs.
    many will be concentrating on Euro 2008 final.........

  5. #5
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drifit View Post
    i think it will be ok for 4 hrs.
    many will be concentrating on Euro 2008 final.........
    i knew there was something genius about my timing...

  6. #6
    Regular Member ctjcad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    u.s.a.
    Posts
    19,157
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Hmm, soccer match should be over by then...

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    ...
    when is this happening: tentatively will be June 29th, 2008, 9PM PDT
    ...
    Quote Originally Posted by drifit View Post
    i think it will be ok for 4 hrs.
    many will be concentrating on Euro 2008 final.........
    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    i knew there was something genius about my timing...
    ...9 pm, this coming Sunday night, will be 6 am Monday morning, Vienna time. The final should be over and our Pemuda should be on his way back to join all of us...
    If kwun wants to shut BC down (for back up duty) and have all the football maniacs congregate, sit and enjoy the Euro 2008 Final in front of their tubbies, whilst at the same time not miss the Thai Open Finals, then it shall be done about 9 hrs. earliler (11:30 am PDT)...which i believe the TO Finals should be over also..

    Btw, i think a warning & countdown might be needed...
    Last edited by ctjcad; 06-24-2008 at 11:04 PM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Oldhand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    7,328
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb Ready Reckoner - International

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    what is happening: BC server will be down for a span of 4+ hours
    when is this happening: tentatively will be June 29th, 2008, 9PM PDT
    why is this happening: regular server backup
    who will be affected: all our dear BC members
    Here's a ready reckoner for our down-time across the world
    When it's 21:00 (9pm) on Sunday, 29 June for kwun, it will be:

    Sun 18:00 Honolulu
    Sun 20:00 Anchorage *
    Sun 21:00 Vancouver *
    Sun 21:00 San Francisco *
    Sun 21:00 Seattle *
    Sun 21:00 Los Angeles *
    Sun 21:00 Phoenix
    Sun 22:00 Edmonton *
    Sun 22:00 Denver *
    Sun 22:00 Guatemala
    Sun 22:00 San Salvador
    Sun 22:00 Tegucigalpa
    Sun 22:00 Managua
    Sun 23:00 Mexico City *
    Sun 23:00 Winnipeg *
    Sun 23:00 Houston *
    Sun 23:00 Minneapolis *
    Sun 23:00 St. Paul *
    Sun 23:00 New Orleans *
    Sun 23:00 Chicago *
    Sun 23:00 Montgomery *
    Sun 23:00 Lima
    Sun 23:00 Kingston
    Sun 23:00 Bogota
    Sun 23:30 Caracas
    Mon 00:00 Indianapolis *
    Mon 00:00 Atlanta *
    Mon 00:00 Detroit *
    Mon 00:00 Havana *
    Mon 00:00 Miami *
    Mon 00:00 Toronto *
    Mon 00:00 Nassau *
    Mon 00:00 Washington DC *
    Mon 00:00 Ottawa *
    Mon 00:00 Philadelphia *
    Mon 00:00 New York *
    Mon 00:00 Montreal *
    Mon 00:00 Boston *
    Mon 00:00 Santiago
    Mon 00:00 Santo Domingo
    Mon 00:00 La Paz
    Mon 00:00 San Juan
    Mon 00:00 Asuncion
    Mon 01:00 Halifax *
    Mon 01:00 Buenos Aires
    Mon 01:00 Montevideo
    Mon 01:00 Brasilia
    Mon 01:00 Sao Paulo
    Mon 01:00 Rio de Janeiro
    Mon 01:30 St. John's *
    Mon 04:00 Reykjavik
    Mon 05:00 Lisbon *
    Mon 05:00 Casablanca *
    Mon 05:00 Dublin *
    Mon 05:00 London *
    Mon 05:00 Lagos
    Mon 05:00 Algiers
    Mon 06:00 Madrid *
    Mon 06:00 Barcelona *
    Mon 06:00 Paris *
    Mon 06:00 Brussels *
    Mon 06:00 Amsterdam *
    Mon 06:00 Geneva *
    Mon 06:00 Zürich *
    Mon 06:00 Frankfurt *
    Mon 06:00 Oslo *
    Mon 06:00 Copenhagen *
    Mon 06:00 Rome *
    Mon 06:00 Berlin *
    Mon 06:00 Prague *
    Mon 06:00 Zagreb *
    Mon 06:00 Vienna *
    Mon 06:00 Stockholm *
    Mon 06:00 Cape Town
    Mon 06:00 Budapest *
    Mon 06:00 Belgrade *
    Mon 06:00 Warsaw *
    Mon 06:00 Johannesburg
    Mon 06:00 Harare
    Mon 07:00 Sofia *
    Mon 07:00 Athens *
    Mon 07:00 Tallinn *
    Mon 07:00 Helsinki *
    Mon 07:00 Bucharest *
    Mon 07:00 Minsk *
    Mon 07:00 Istanbul *
    Mon 07:00 Kyiv *
    Mon 07:00 Cairo *
    Mon 07:00 Khartoum
    Mon 07:00 Ankara *
    Mon 07:00 Jerusalem *
    Mon 07:00 Beirut *
    Mon 07:00 Amman *
    Mon 07:00 Nairobi
    Mon 07:00 Addis Ababa
    Mon 07:00 Baghdad
    Mon 07:00 Aden
    Mon 07:00 Riyadh
    Mon 07:00 Antananarivo
    Mon 07:00 Kuwait City
    Mon 08:00 Moscow *
    Mon 08:00 Dubai
    Mon 08:30 Tehran *
    Mon 08:30 Kabul
    Mon 09:00 Tashkent
    Mon 09:30 Mumbai
    Mon 09:30 New Delhi
    Mon 09:30 Kolkata
    Mon 09:45 Kathmandu
    Mon 10:00 Karachi *
    Mon 10:00 Islamabad *
    Mon 10:00 Lahore *
    Mon 10:00 Almaty
    Mon 10:00 Dhaka
    Mon 10:30 Yangon
    Mon 11:00 Bangkok
    Mon 11:00 Hanoi
    Mon 11:00 Jakarta
    Mon 12:00 Kuala Lumpur
    Mon 12:00 Singapore
    Mon 12:00 Hong Kong
    Mon 12:00 Perth
    Mon 12:00 Beijing
    Mon 12:00 Manila
    Mon 12:00 Shanghai
    Mon 12:00 Taipei
    Mon 13:00 Seoul
    Mon 13:00 Tokyo
    Mon 13:30 Darwin
    Mon 13:30 Adelaide
    Mon 14:00 Melbourne
    Mon 14:00 Canberra
    Mon 14:00 Sydney
    Mon 14:00 Brisbane
    Mon 15:00 Vladivostok *
    Mon 16:00 Auckland
    Mon 16:00 Suva
    Mon 16:45 Chatham Island
    Mon 17:00 Kamchatka *
    Mon 17:00 Anadyr *
    Mon 18:00 Kiritimati

    Please Note: Places marked with an asterisk (*) are on DST (Daylight Saving Time) or Summer Time.

  8. #8
    Regular Member ctjcad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    u.s.a.
    Posts
    19,157
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default ^^Did you..^^

    ..cover the North Pole (Arctic) as well as the South Pole (Antartica) regions??..
    Last edited by ctjcad; 06-29-2008 at 02:09 AM.

  9. #9
    Moderator Oldhand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    7,328
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ctjcad View Post
    ..cover the North Pole (Arctic) as well as the South Pole (Antartica) regions??..
    cooler is the one normally inhabiting such regions.
    No fear - he is in Canada now

    PS: I'm bumping up the time post.

  10. #10
    Moderator Oldhand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    7,328
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb International Ready Reckoner

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun
    what is happening: BC server will be down for a span of 4+ hours
    when is this happening: tentatively will be June 29th, 2008, 9PM PDT
    why is this happening: regular server backup
    who will be affected: all our dear BC members
    With less than 24 hours to go before kwun does his upgrading magic for BC, here's a ready reckoner for our down-time across the world

    When it's 21:00 (9pm) on Sunday, 29 June for kwun, it will be:

    Sun 18:00 Honolulu
    Sun 20:00 Anchorage *
    Sun 21:00 Vancouver *
    Sun 21:00 San Francisco *
    Sun 21:00 Seattle *
    Sun 21:00 Los Angeles *
    Sun 21:00 Phoenix
    Sun 22:00 Edmonton *
    Sun 22:00 Denver *
    Sun 22:00 Guatemala
    Sun 22:00 San Salvador
    Sun 22:00 Tegucigalpa
    Sun 22:00 Managua
    Sun 23:00 Mexico City *
    Sun 23:00 Winnipeg *
    Sun 23:00 Houston *
    Sun 23:00 Minneapolis *
    Sun 23:00 St. Paul *
    Sun 23:00 New Orleans *
    Sun 23:00 Chicago *
    Sun 23:00 Montgomery *
    Sun 23:00 Lima
    Sun 23:00 Kingston
    Sun 23:00 Bogota
    Sun 23:30 Caracas
    Mon 00:00 Indianapolis *
    Mon 00:00 Atlanta *
    Mon 00:00 Detroit *
    Mon 00:00 Havana *
    Mon 00:00 Miami *
    Mon 00:00 Toronto *
    Mon 00:00 Nassau *
    Mon 00:00 Washington DC *
    Mon 00:00 Ottawa *
    Mon 00:00 Philadelphia *
    Mon 00:00 New York *
    Mon 00:00 Montreal *
    Mon 00:00 Boston *
    Mon 00:00 Santiago
    Mon 00:00 Santo Domingo
    Mon 00:00 La Paz
    Mon 00:00 San Juan
    Mon 00:00 Asuncion
    Mon 01:00 Halifax *
    Mon 01:00 Buenos Aires
    Mon 01:00 Montevideo
    Mon 01:00 Brasilia
    Mon 01:00 Sao Paulo
    Mon 01:00 Rio de Janeiro
    Mon 01:30 St. John's *
    Mon 04:00 Reykjavik
    Mon 05:00 Lisbon *
    Mon 05:00 Casablanca *
    Mon 05:00 Dublin *
    Mon 05:00 London *
    Mon 05:00 Lagos
    Mon 05:00 Algiers
    Mon 06:00 Madrid *
    Mon 06:00 Barcelona *
    Mon 06:00 Paris *
    Mon 06:00 Brussels *
    Mon 06:00 Amsterdam *
    Mon 06:00 Geneva *
    Mon 06:00 Zürich *
    Mon 06:00 Frankfurt *
    Mon 06:00 Oslo *
    Mon 06:00 Copenhagen *
    Mon 06:00 Rome *
    Mon 06:00 Berlin *
    Mon 06:00 Prague *
    Mon 06:00 Zagreb *
    Mon 06:00 Vienna *
    Mon 06:00 Stockholm *
    Mon 06:00 Cape Town
    Mon 06:00 Budapest *
    Mon 06:00 Belgrade *
    Mon 06:00 Warsaw *
    Mon 06:00 Johannesburg
    Mon 06:00 Harare
    Mon 07:00 Sofia *
    Mon 07:00 Athens *
    Mon 07:00 Tallinn *
    Mon 07:00 Helsinki *
    Mon 07:00 Bucharest *
    Mon 07:00 Minsk *
    Mon 07:00 Istanbul *
    Mon 07:00 Kyiv *
    Mon 07:00 Cairo *
    Mon 07:00 Khartoum
    Mon 07:00 Ankara *
    Mon 07:00 Jerusalem *
    Mon 07:00 Beirut *
    Mon 07:00 Amman *
    Mon 07:00 Nairobi
    Mon 07:00 Addis Ababa
    Mon 07:00 Baghdad
    Mon 07:00 Aden
    Mon 07:00 Riyadh
    Mon 07:00 Antananarivo
    Mon 07:00 Kuwait City
    Mon 08:00 Moscow *
    Mon 08:00 Dubai
    Mon 08:30 Tehran *
    Mon 08:30 Kabul
    Mon 09:00 Tashkent
    Mon 09:30 Mumbai
    Mon 09:30 New Delhi
    Mon 09:30 Kolkata
    Mon 09:45 Kathmandu
    Mon 10:00 Karachi *
    Mon 10:00 Islamabad *
    Mon 10:00 Lahore *
    Mon 10:00 Almaty
    Mon 10:00 Dhaka
    Mon 10:30 Yangon
    Mon 11:00 Bangkok
    Mon 11:00 Hanoi
    Mon 11:00 Jakarta
    Mon 12:00 Kuala Lumpur
    Mon 12:00 Singapore
    Mon 12:00 Hong Kong
    Mon 12:00 Perth
    Mon 12:00 Beijing
    Mon 12:00 Manila
    Mon 12:00 Shanghai
    Mon 12:00 Taipei
    Mon 13:00 Seoul
    Mon 13:00 Tokyo
    Mon 13:30 Darwin
    Mon 13:30 Adelaide
    Mon 14:00 Melbourne
    Mon 14:00 Canberra
    Mon 14:00 Sydney
    Mon 14:00 Brisbane
    Mon 15:00 Vladivostok *
    Mon 16:00 Auckland
    Mon 16:00 Suva
    Mon 16:45 Chatham Island
    Mon 17:00 Kamchatka *
    Mon 17:00 Anadyr *
    Mon 18:00 Kiritimati

    Please Note: Places marked with an asterisk (*) are on DST (Daylight Saving Time) or Summer Time.

  11. #11
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    as Oldhand has alluded to, this backup will be expanded to more than a backup.

    with some really good luck, i have managed to lease a new server for badmintoncentral at an incredible price.

    here is the spec for the new server:

    Dual quad-core Xeon (yes, 2x4 = 8 CPU cores!)
    Dual 15k rpm 143GB disks
    2GB Ram

    compared to our previous dual Xeon 2.8G, the new server has 4 times the cpu and 4 times the disk storage.

    and the kicker is, all these upgrade only cost $8 more per month!

    i have tested the server and it is amazingly fast.

    anyway, so tonight will be upgrade night. meanwhile, i am doing all the prep work for the actual migration.

    hopefully will see you tomorrow with a brand new and much faster server.

  12. #12
    Regular Member ctjcad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    u.s.a.
    Posts
    19,157
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool ^^Awesome!!..^^

    ...1 million posts, here we come!..

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    first post after bf reboot

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    vancouver,canada
    Posts
    1,663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwun View Post
    as Oldhand has alluded to, this backup will be expanded to more than a backup.

    with some really good luck, i have managed to lease a new server for badmintoncentral at an incredible price.

    here is the spec for the new server:

    Dual quad-core Xeon (yes, 2x4 = 8 CPU cores!)
    Dual 15k rpm 143GB disks
    2GB Ram

    compared to our previous dual Xeon 2.8G, the new server has 4 times the cpu and 4 times the disk storage.

    and the kicker is, all these upgrade only cost $8 more per month!

    i have tested the server and it is amazingly fast.

    anyway, so tonight will be upgrade night. meanwhile, i am doing all the prep work for the actual migration.

    hopefully will see you tomorrow with a brand new and much faster server.
    Wow! That is very impressive!! Thanks Kwun.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by azn_123 View Post
    Wow! That is very impressive!! Thanks Kwun.
    u have waited too long azn_123

  16. #16
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cooler View Post
    first post after bf reboot
    ops... the downtime just now was unintended. sorry for the brief outage...

  17. #17
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,918
    Mentioned
    53 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    apologize to those who are online. since my prep work for the server migration has been completed, and that i find there are few members online, i have decided to move the downtime earlier.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    : 12-01-2011, 02:01 PM
  2. Looking for game on 29th June
    By swoosh78 in forum Singapore
    Replies: 0
    : 06-28-2011, 11:49 AM
  3. ANNOUNCEMENT: scheduled BC downtime
    By kwun in forum Badminton Central Announcements
    Replies: 16
    : 10-04-2010, 01:03 PM
  4. ANNOUNCEMENT: BC maintenance June 20th 12:01am-5am Central Time
    By kwun in forum Badminton Central Announcements
    Replies: 1
    : 06-20-2010, 01:45 AM
  5. ANNOUNCEMENT: server down time Apr 22nd, 2010
    By kwun in forum Badminton Central Announcements
    Replies: 11
    : 04-25-2010, 06:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •