Being Wrong Footed!!

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Timbuctoo, Jul 7, 2008.

1. Timbuctoo

Timbuctoo Regular Member

I have a badminton singles question for you gurus and what I think is the answer but I could be way off the track;

I feel like my footwork is good and that my shots are okay, ofcourse I'm no pro and make errors but I'm getting more consistent. My issue is that against the better players I get wrong footed. I feel that physically I can keep up, but frustratingly I keep getting wrong footed and that burns my energy really quick. There's nothing more energy sapping than having to change direction when momentum is going one way and the shuttle the other way. I move forward and my opponent appears to play a drop, holds and flicks deep to my backhand. The opposite happens when moving left, he holds the shuttle and hits out of my reach to the right. Maybe some forum experts have some tips to combat this so I can win a few more points.

Here's my theory so tell me if I'm wrong;

I'm moving to early because I'm anticipating a shot that my brain says is going to happen. I guess if I'm unsure about the next shot I should wait until the shuttle is hit before committing. Make my next shot as difficult as possible for him/her to make an offensive/deceptive return and then anticipate when I'm on the offensive.

When players can be deceptive like this I find it difficult to win points especially when they can do it consistently. I would make rather play any other kind of player but there has to be a sure footed way to approach these kind of players with more confidence.

Good luck answering this one!!

2. Gollum

Gollum Regular Member

Your theory is good. :)

Movement in badminton is easy if you know where your opponent will hit the shuttle; but most of the time, you don't know this. Most of the time, you need to cover all four corners.