Be hard to yourself. Train in games without a coach.

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by modularity, Jul 22, 2008.

1. modularity

modularity Regular Member

share some of my experience::D

I've been playing once/week for 9 months and has beaten quite a few friends (incluing guys from university backup teams, first team is simply way TOO good :) ) I thought were unbeatable 9 months ago.
    My skills are still quite raw and I don't have much time to play. Yet I think

when you cannot afford the money and time to hire a coach or train with partners, say, like me, a poor graduate student,:) you can steadily improve in club games.

A good way is (1.) when playing with better players, play to your best and ASK them later what's your weakness, and what attacks are not effective; better players are often quite keen-eyed and can spot your weakness instantly.

(2.) when playing with players that you're confident to beat. don't play to 100%, 75% at most. Keep away from your 'killer shots' (for me, accurate baseline drives, nets combined with smashes), and TELL THEM YOUR WEAKNESSES!! and expect them to hit there:crying:. I think that's the best way to improve, given most players cannot remember your weakness. REMIND THEM:D. (for me, forehand receiving, backhand low drive. and some particular form of footwork in doubles).

Hope it's useful.

#1 modularity, Jul 22, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2008
  2. blundey

blundey Regular Member

Ive tried this for a year playing 3 times a week. I personally thought i got alot better, and could stand my ground and even win the majority of the games depending on my partner. Then my progress started to slow to a halt. I thought what better time to get some one-one coaching. With a bit of spare cash flying around I began coaching 2 weeks ago.