User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 23
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SinGapoRe
    Posts
    356
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Lightbulb Are 2 persons allowed to stand in 1 box during service?

    People.. im unsure if 2 ppl are allowed to stand in one box during a service.. is it legal?? Not 1 foot but the whole body. When service.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    446
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The person serving must be in his/her box... but if I'm not wrong... I believe the other person may stand whereever he wants.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,342
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, yes, the partner is free to stand anywhere.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Indeed! The non-serving partner is free to stand in any box, even in-front of the serving partner?!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    353
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In fact, The non-serving partner is free to stand anywhere except in his/her opponent's court!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    or standing on the net

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    649
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the girl in mixed stands in left side regardless of where the male partner is standing.. the partner can stand anywhere, as long as it does not obstruct the view of the server.... (the opponent's view of the server..)

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,358
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by jayes
    Indeed! The non-serving partner is free to stand in any box, even in-front of the serving partner?!
    Not quite true. According to law#:

    9.7 In doubles, the partners may take up any positions which do not unsight the opposing server or receiver.

    That means the non-serving partner cannot block the receiver from seeing the server.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You are quite astute there WWC! I was just subtlely correcting the quote directly above my reply (with humor):

    <I>Mag wrote: Yes, yes, the partner is <B>free to stand anywhere.</B></I>

    Anyway, I was also taught by my coach to only place one foot in my partner's box (allowed?) when it was our turn to serve, long time ago

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    353
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not quite wrong as well.

    In double, you are allowed to stand in front of the server (your partner) as long as you are not blocking the receiver from seeing the server nor blocking the server from serving.

    IMO, as a conclusion, in double, the partner can stand anywhere and everywhere with one foot, two feet or whole body in his/her court as long as he/she doesnt block the view of the receiver and the server.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    182
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Kevin
    or standing on the net
    I like to see that.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hehe :-)
    maybe here is a little trick=>
    if the other player make a lot wind with his racket the shuttle will have an effect
    (i know no effects allowed in your serve )

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Okay, you've all talked about where a partner can stand when their own partner is serving, but what about the rules for partners when RECEIVINg service? I am curious to know about this ... can someone help me out, please? Can a partner be in the box with the receiver of the service, or do they have to stand in their own box, etc.?

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    172
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    why the hell would you want to do that. as soon as the non receiver touches it its a foul and you would just be getting in the way of your partner !

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Okay no need to be rude now! It's just that we play against this really old guy in one of the leagues and he his this very very odd service that no matter where the receiver is standing he tries to play the shuttle over the receiver's partner's head! I dunno it's hard to describe - perhaps the question I should have asked is "is it legal for the receiver's partner to stand nearly off the court when receiving service?"

    Oh, nevermind, I'm bloody useless at this game anyway, no amounts of hints and tips will help me anyway ... thank you!

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    231
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wednesday,
    as long as the partner of the receiver does not block the view of the server,
    which will be not problem in your situation, the partner of the receiver
    is free to stand anywhere.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thank you!

    I realise I did ask a rather silly question earlier ... but I appreciate your patience in answering anyway ... Since I'm not all that good at it anyway, perhaps I should just stick to playing for the love of the game and keeping the comments and questions to myself!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Why do professionals stand so close to the service line?
    By Jason123 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 03-16-2012, 06:59 PM
  2. Is this allowed or against the rule?
    By tlautlau in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 18
    : 10-01-2009, 11:26 PM
  3. Patrotic sport persons
    By fifteen luv in forum Chit-Chat
    Replies: 4
    : 12-14-2007, 11:18 AM
  4. Is it allowed?
    By CliveH in forum Thomas Laybourn Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 05-11-2006, 06:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •