Need Advice

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by santanick18, May 24, 2002.

1. santanick18

santanick18 Regular Member

Advice Plz?

I am a college student who loves Badminton and really wants to invest in a good racquet. I am looking for a racquet that is light and quick (I play defensively), but that has power if I am willing to put the arm muscles into it (for clears). I rely on my defense and my serve precision to win matches. I do not mind paying a bunch for a good racquet, I just need to know that it will last for a LONG time. Any advice on what to buy?

#1 santanick18, May 24, 2002
    Last edited: May 24, 2002
  2. jsunsun

jsunsun Regular Member

ti sp sr

sounds like you need a Ti SP SR. a very light defensive racquet with lots of power. where are you located?

3. TDotSmAsHer

TDotSmAsHer Regular Member

Student Gr 11 in Sept.------- badminton player/ad
    Won't it be too light and fragile?

Depending on what you mean by light... if you previously used like 100 + gram racquets then I suggest MP-55.

Great for it's price.... I think you can get at Yo's for $130 string (any type) and tax included... maybe less... ask for CD version though.. (I heard he sells SP and CD not sure).

MP-55 is traditional length, pretty light 2U 90-95 gr.. pretty stiff... head heavy balanced... great power.... good control.. I recommend it ....

Very durable.. wel mine broke cause friend stepped/tripped on it... but I think any racquet would break when stepped on... survived lots of clashes though.. suffered in looks (paint chips etc.) But didn't affect racquet performance..

I am beginner-intermediate and I used it.. and think its great :) Woulda got another one but I'm getting a TI-10 instead... :D

4. jsunsun

jsunsun Regular Member

if read the post clearly, he wants a "light" racquet, that is "fast" and "defensive", and doesn't mind paying lots for it. mp55 is definitely not a light nor a defensive and fast racquet.

5. TDotSmAsHer