Where to play in downtown Toronto?

Discussion in 'Canada East' started by Catmullrom, Aug 13, 2008.

1. Catmullrom

Catmullrom New Member

I've spent the past week looking around online for a place to play badminton in Toronto on a weekly basis, and quite frankly haven't been that successful. So I'm hoping someone on this forum can help me out. I've already searched this forum a couple of times, but was hoping someone could make a specific recommendation.

A bit of backstory, I played badminton competitively in high school before moving to Toronto for university where I continued to play for a few years, but just for fun. Once I graduated and got a job though I became pretty lazy and didn't play for quite a few years. But I'm back in shape now, and would love to find a place to play for the Fall/Winter season. I'm definitely not a beginner, but I won't be making the Olympic team either, so like most people I'm just looking for a fun weekly game with people of varying skill levels.

The only catch is that I live downtown and am reliant on the subway and walking to get where I need to go. So badminton clubs out in the suburbs are out of the question. And while I have no problem with yearly fees and such, I'm also not willing to drop $500 on a fancy club. A simple gymnasium facility with a decent net is enough to make me happy.

So if anyone can suggest a club I can get in contact with, or are already a member of a downtown meetup looking for new members, I'd love to hear from you.

cheers,

- catmullom

2. david07

david07 New Member

Student
    somewhere to play in downtown toronto would be the metro central ymca

3. Catmullrom

Catmullrom New Member

Thanks for the suggestion, but as I understand it the YMCA is a pay per evening thing, and I'd actually prefer to just pay a seasonal membership. (Unless I'm completely wrong about that.)

4. david07

david07 New Member

Student
    YMCA membership is monthly I believe.

5. ShuttleCocks

ShuttleCocks Regular Member