User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bedok Reservoir - Singapore
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Grip for APacs ES10

    Hi I tried searching for old threads but nothing much. Anyway I got an ES10 sometime ago, changed the default grip as it peeled off and I have a Karakal PU Supergrip on.

    But I feel the grip is too small. The racket is a 4UG2.. If i lay another Karakal PU supergrip over the existing one, will it help??

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think you need a replacement grip not an overgrip.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    405
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    not sure but i believe the karakal PU supergrip is a replacement grip?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bedok Reservoir - Singapore
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hmm it should be an over grip according to the sticky thread by Dinkalot.. The problem is when i got the Karakal PU supergrip, I did not lay it over the default one, I got the default grip removed. Thus now, I'm thinking if I should lay another Supergrip over the existing one to make it feel thicker cos currently the grip feels too small for my hands..

    Quote Originally Posted by BennyC View Post
    not sure but i believe the karakal PU supergrip is a replacement grip?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BennyC View Post
    not sure but i believe the karakal PU supergrip is a replacement grip?
    Karakal PU supergrip is definitely an overgrip.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    131
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i dun think karakal pu supergrip is an overgrip. it's thickness is about 1.5mm. hoodlum, mayb u can try tis way, u try put on the karakal grip using overgrip way. i mean when u r gripping, u put the bottom of the next layer on middle of the grip, like the line show in the pic. but u will need longer grip. hope tis helps

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A replacement grip has a sticky tape on the back while a overgrip doesn't have one. karakal pu supergrip do not have the sticky tape on the back so that makes it an overgrip.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London & Penang
    Posts
    6,628
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    experiment a bit with overgrips (thicker) and replacement grips (thinner), put on as many layers as you need until you feel comfortable with your racquet. there's no right or wrong thickness, it varies with each individual.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bedok Reservoir - Singapore
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hmm the truth is I suck at changing grips so mostly I get it done by the shopkeeper when I purchase the grip ..

    which pic??

    Quote Originally Posted by squallyeo View Post
    i dun think karakal pu supergrip is an overgrip. it's thickness is about 1.5mm. hoodlum, mayb u can try tis way, u try put on the karakal grip using overgrip way. i mean when u r gripping, u put the bottom of the next layer on middle of the grip, like the line show in the pic. but u will need longer grip. hope tis helps

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bedok Reservoir - Singapore
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yea I dont mind experimenting. I was just wondering if putting on another grip over the existing one is the right way to do it..

    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamzz View Post
    experiment a bit with overgrips (thicker) and replacement grips (thinner), put on as many layers as you need until you feel comfortable with your racquet. there's no right or wrong thickness, it varies with each individual.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London & Penang
    Posts
    6,628
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoodlum View Post
    Yea I dont mind experimenting. I was just wondering if putting on another grip over the existing one is the right way to do it..
    yup, it's fine. you might lose the feel of the edges of the handle, but if you're ok with that, then you should be alright. a friend of mine is like you, he likes big grips, if it's a yonex g5 he puts on 3 overgrips! only 2 though for a g4, it's really sick ....

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bedok Reservoir - Singapore
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hmm I think a second grip should do the job.. I have a Carlton and an old Yonex racket. The handle seems to be bigger than the ES10 and I only had 1 Karakal grip on them and it felt fine so I guess i just need some added thickness.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamzz View Post
    yup, it's fine. you might lose the feel of the edges of the handle, but if you're ok with that, then you should be alright. a friend of mine is like you, he likes big grips, if it's a yonex g5 he puts on 3 overgrips! only 2 though for a g4, it's really sick ....

Similar Threads

  1. FS: Selling Apacs ES10 ( used for 30 min only) (SG)
    By saber10 in forum Buy & Sell - Read the rules sticky before you post
    Replies: 2
    : 10-07-2011, 12:01 PM
  2. Different between nano900power n es10
    By clemenza in forum Racket Recommendation / Comparison
    Replies: 0
    : 04-18-2010, 10:26 PM
  3. best string for apacs es10
    By fiq_boy2001 in forum Badminton String
    Replies: 2
    : 03-04-2010, 09:15 AM
  4. Fs: Bg80, Bg66, Apacs Vh1500, Es7, Es10, Nf7500/7800/7900
    By DinkAlot in forum Buy & Sell - Read the rules sticky before you post
    Replies: 17
    : 04-12-2009, 07:54 PM
  5. Compare APACS ES7 or ES10
    By gkimann in forum Racket Recommendation / Comparison
    Replies: 6
    : 12-02-2008, 10:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •