Chest soreness/pain?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Shinto, Aug 16, 2008.

1. Shinto

Shinto Regular Member

After a particularly hard badminton workout my muscles are sore, but occassionally, my chest gets a small pain that only occurs when I breath in deeply and lasts for the remainder of the day (note that the pain disappears so it doesn't match the descriptions online. it doesn't come back for awhile and when it does, it again stays for just that day). I looked online for answers but they all involve last sharp or dull pain rather than one associated with deepness of breath.

I'm wondering if this is simply because my lungs are working harder than they are used to. Could this be fixed by simply becoming more fit and doing these difficult routines more?

As for my current condition: I'm a bit over 18, I've been playing for more than 3 years. I have only had this issue when taking particularly hard private lessons (repetitive jump smash/full court attack), doesn't happen in tournaments (although I've only played doubles in tournaments, have yet to play singles)

#1 Shinto, Aug 16, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  2. rwg05

rwg05 Regular Member

I think you should see a doctor

3. phandrew

phandrew Regular Member

Racquet breaker
    You may be pushing your body a bit too hard.

4. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

Chest pain can mean a lot of things. It is unlikely that Google, nor a well-meaning BC member, is going to be able to diagnose your specific problem. Is your pain in a very specific area? Like an area you can point to with a finger? Is it sharp or dull?

Seeing as how you are so fit otherwise, let's hope that you simply strained one of the small muscles between your ribs. Or irritated a rib where it joins the breastbone or where it goes from bone to cartilage. Those things will settle.

But there is a wide range of things that could be going on, so let a medico see you for a proper diagnosis. Good luck.

5. Shinto