User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 18 to 21 of 21
  1. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the reciever only ready to when the server is ready to serve (looks at Cai/Fu for the china team for example, they get into position to revieve the serve but won't be ready to recieve it untill the server is ready to serve). Jen Eriksen and the OP r 2 totally different situation, JE looks down his shuttle to avoid eyes contact while OP looks back at his partner to check to see if his partner is ready or not, When u look back to check whether ur partner is ready or not indicate that ur not ready to serve.

  2. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default My intention is different

    I am not at all worried about a net rush. According to what you say, why do international players make a deceive on their shot. Are they worried about their shot? That is a skill. They have to out do their opponent to win a rally.

    My intention is to check if my partner is ready before I serve. Now I changed what I am doing. Before I take my stance I am looking at my partner to check if he is ready and then I am getting into my stance. This way I want to reduce trouble on the serve.

    Quote Originally Posted by sunofabeach View Post
    sure he can if he thinks the server turned around to look at his partner and reset his stance. it throws the reciever off.

    why try to do the "surprise serve" at all? are you really that worried about a net rush?

    all i read about here is "gentlemanly this, sportsmanship that" and you say this is ok? there is no way i would try to win a point by distracting my opponent before serving.

  3. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    calgary
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    when an opponent does a deceptive shot, it is definitely a skill. when an opponent does a surprise serve when trying to distracting the reciever, it is a totally different story.

  4. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Alberta/Canada
    Posts
    1,058
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by suresh_k281 View Post
    I am not at all worried about a net rush. According to what you say, why do international players make a deceive on their shot. Are they worried about their shot? That is a skill. They have to out do their opponent to win a rally.
    My intention is to check if my partner is ready before I serve. Now I changed what I am doing. Before I take my stance I am looking at my partner to check if he is ready and then I am getting into my stance. This way I want to reduce trouble on the serve.

    This is the proper way of checking to make sure your partner is ready. Now, you are not surprising your opponent any more, because they know as soon as you take your stance, you are just about to serve without any interruption.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. What constitutes a legal serve?
    By taumax in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 15
    : 08-22-2013, 12:20 PM
  2. Weird serve...legal???
    By GiGaChip in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 6
    : 03-27-2005, 06:53 PM
  3. Is this serve legal?
    By timeless in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 41
    : 11-09-2003, 05:05 AM
  4. legal serve
    By RealMad in forum General Forum
    Replies: 22
    : 09-13-2003, 11:14 AM
  5. Legal/illegal serve?
    By Unknown in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 05-24-2002, 09:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •